Arkansas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Arkansas Board of Cosmetology License Information

Last Updated: December 27, 2012

In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Arkansas, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology. When getting an Arkansas cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Arkansas's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams. After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issue by the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Arkansas cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Arkansas. Keep in mind, even though Arkansas may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Arkansas annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the AR Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. Please contact the Arkansas Board of Cosmetology for more information. Arkansas does not allow apprenticeship to get beauty licensing. The cosmetology board exams may be taken in Spanish, English, Vietnamese or Korean. Barbering board exams may only be taken in English. By law since 1937, barber applicants who have been convicted of a felony must go before the barbering board to attend school and get licensed.

Find Arkansas beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Arkansas.

Arkansas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Arkansas Cosmetology License Renewal

Cosmetology licenses in Arkansas must be renewed every two years in odd years by the licensee's birthday, in two year intervals after the year you got licensed. Regular practitioner licenses are $100 to renew, and barber licenses are $40 to renew. Salons must renew their licenses every year by December 31 for a fee of $100. Currently, no continuing education hours are required to renew your cosmetology license in Arkansas, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.

Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Arkansas

The Arkansas cosmetology board requires a reciprocity application and a $150 to transfer your license to Arkansas. Your home state should send a certification of records and training. You will have to take the Arkansas state cosmetology board exam. If your home state requires fewer training hours to get your cosmetology license, you may have to take additional exams. In Arkansas, they do not accept barber apprentices fresh out of school unless they have school training hours, except Louisiana, which has a 3-year apprenticeship training program. You must have had similar barber training hour requirements in your home state and/or have your barber license for 3+ years. All reciprocity and transfer applications are considered on a case-by-case basis. International licensees must prove they are both licensed and experienced, and take the practical exam.

AR State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology
101 F. Capitol Ave, Suite 108
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone Number: 501-682-2168
Fax Number: 501-682-5640
E-mail: cosmo@arkansas.gov

The Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining an Arkansas state cosmetology license.

Find Cosmetology Schools

Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:


Sponsored Links

Beauty Scholarship