Connecticut Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Last Updated: August 20, 2015
In the state of Connecticut, most beauty professions are regulated by the Examining Board for Barbers, Hairdressers, and Cosmeticians. To start working toward a cosmetology, barber, electrology, or massage license, you must complete the training hours listed below at an approved school.
You can then apply for your license by submitting the appropriate forms and paying the licensure fee. This ranges from $100 for cosmetologists to $375 for massage therapists. Once you have your license, you must maintain it by completing 10 continuing education hours every two years and renewing your license every two years.
For specific questions, please contact the CT Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. Connecticut does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours for licensing. The cosmetology board exams are only offered in English through Prometric, but the barber board exam is also offered in Spanish.
Get in touch with Connecticut beauty schools to start meeting the licensure requirements for your chosen career!
Connecticut Board of Cosmetology License Requirements (2015)
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1000 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Connecticut Cosmetology License Renewal
Connecticut licensees must renew their licenses every two years after licensing in the last day of their birth month. Failing to renew by this date causes your license to lapse. To renew a lapsed license, you must complete either 135 hours of education through a refresher course or successfully pass the Prometric Licensing Examination.
Cosmetology and barber licenses cost $100 to renew. Electrology licenses cost $205 to renew. Massage therapy licenses come with a renewal cost of $255. Connecticut does require you to complete 10 cosmetology continuing education hours to renew your license, though CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Connecticut
The Connecticut Examining Board for Barbers, Hairdressers, and Cosmeticians requires that reciprocity or transfer applicants have received equivalent training and testing in their home state. You are required to provide verification of cosmetology licensure from your home state to the Examining Board for Barbers, Hairdressers, and Cosmeticians. You must pass a written exam to transfer your license. There is a $100 application fee.
CT State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Connecticut Dept. of Public Health - Cosmetology & Licensing
410 Capitol Ave., MS #13PHO
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
Phone Number: 860-509-7603 x6
Fax Number: 860-509-8457
E-mail Address: email@example.com
The Connecticut State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating a change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Connecticut cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies