Want more information?
Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Massachusetts Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Massachusetts, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Massachusetts cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school or complete an apprentice program and complete the state of Massachusetts's minimum required training hours. This state does not allow apprenticeship training to get those required hours. Then you must take and pass the written and practical exams required by the State. Massachusetts allows applicants to take the practical and written exams in the English, Spanish or Vietnamese languages. Once you pass this these exams, you will receive your Massachusetts cosmetology license shortly thereafter. Keep in mind, even though Massachusetts may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking continuing education hours annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the MA Board of Cosmetology directly for more information.
Find Massachusetts beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology, and other programs in the State of Massachusetts.
Massachusetts Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1000 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 300 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 100 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: Call 617-727-7367
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: Call 617-727-3939
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 2 Years as Junior Instructor
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 650 Hours
Massachusetts Cosmetology License Renewal
After you first take the test, you must renew the license after 1 year. But after that, cosmetology licenses in Massachusetts must be renewed every two years in by the licensee's birthday. No continuing education hours are required to renew your license in Massachusetts, but cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry. The cost to renew is $68.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Massachusetts
The Massachusetts cosmetology board does not accept reciprocity from other states. In order to transfer your cosmetology license or other beauty license to MA, you must take the state's written and practical board exams. The cost is $135 for the transfer application, $120 for the test, and $68 for the license itself. (Total cost to transfer: $323.)
MA State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetologists
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number: 617-727-9940
Fax Number: 617-727-1627
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining an Massachusetts state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies