Want more information?
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Missouri Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Missouri, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Missouri State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Missouri cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Missouri's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Missouri State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Missouri cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Missouri. Keep in mind, even though Missouri may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Missouri annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the MO Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of MO does allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. allows the licensing exam to be taken in English, Spanish or Vietnamese.
Find Missouri beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Missouri.
Missouri Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours (3000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- BARBER LICENSE: 1000 Hours (2000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 750 Hours (1500 Hours Apprenticeship)
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 400 Hours (800 Hours Apprenticeship)
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: 300 Hours Apprenticeship
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 600 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Missouri Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Missouri happens biennially (every 2 years). Cosmetology licenses expire on September 30 in the odd-numbered years. The cost to renew beauty licenses in Missouri is $30.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Missouri
Cosmetology license transfer depends on your home state and how comparable their training hours are to Missouri's. Missouri requires NIC testing for all transfers. Though cosmetology continuing education is only required for instructors, cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
MO State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 1062
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1062
Phone Number: 866-762-9432
Fax Number: 573-751-8167
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Missouri State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Missouri state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies