North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
North Dakota Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: February 26, 2013
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of North Dakota, students must complete the requirements listed below from the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a North Dakota cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of North Dakota's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your North Dakota cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of North Dakota. Keep in mind, even though North Dakota may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in North Dakota annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the ND Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of ND does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. ND uses PSI to administer the exam and allows you to take the boards in the English language only.
Find North Dakota beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of North Dakota.
North Dakota Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1800 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (Board of Barber Examiners)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1 Year Work Experience + 160 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 750 Hours
North Dakota Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in North Dakota happens every year via written application before December 31. The cost to renew your beauty practitioner's license is $15, and the cost to renew your cosmetology instructor license is $25. Instructors need 8 hours of board-approved cosmetology continuing education. Before attending any seminar every instructor must apply in writing to the board to get the seminar approved. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for the other beauty practitioner licenses at this time, but cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in North Dakota
If you are an out-of-state applicant applying for your ND license without taking the examination, you must provide an application and pay the applicable fees. You must provide proof that you are licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in another state and that your license is in good standing. You must show that the requirements to get licensed in your home state are substantially equal to those in ND at the time of your application. 3,000 hours of work experience as a licensed practitioner may be considered substantially equal to 300 training hours. Otherwise, you may be required to take the North Dakota board examinations for sanitation practices and cosmetology law.
ND State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a North Dakota state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies