Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Nebraska Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Nebraska, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Nebraska cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Nebraska's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Nebraska cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Nebraska. Keep in mind, even though Nebraska may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Nebraska annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the NE Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of NE does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. NE uses PSI to administer the licensing exam, and allows you to take the exam in English only.
Find Nebraska beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Nebraska.
Nebraska Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 2100 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: Contact the Board of Barbering
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 300 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: 4 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 925 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 1000 Hours
Nebraska Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Nebraska happens every 2 years at the end of December for all cosmetologists and nail technicians. Estheticians renew every two years at the end of September. The cost to renew beauty practitioner licenses is $118. Nebraska requires 8 hours of cosmetology continuing education to renew all licenses.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Nebraska
To transfer your cosmetology license to Nebraska, you must have at least 2100 training hours completed and a state board issued exam from your home state. Work experience or additional training hours in Nebraska may be considered if you don't have 2100 training hours from your home state. The cost to transfer your license to NE is $95.
NE State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Nebraska Dept. of Health and Human Services - Cosmetology Department
301 Centennial Mall South, 3rd Floor
PO Box 94986
Licoln, NE 68509-4986
Phone Number: 402-471-2117
Fax Number: 402-471-3577
The Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Nebraska state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies