New Mexico State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
New Mexico Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: October 28, 2015
Before you can work as a cosmetologist in New Mexico, you must choose a beauty specialty and meet the education and examination requirements of the . The required training hours for each specialty are listed below.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam, after which you should receive your New Mexico cosmetology license. The state of New Mexico doesn’t currently accept apprenticeship as a route of completing your training hours, so you must complete your educational requirements before testing. New Mexico administers their exam in both English and Spanish languages.
Keep in mind that although New Mexico may not require continuing education to renew most licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in New Mexico annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists directly for more information.
Find New Mexico beauty schools that can help you obtain your license in cosmetology, esthetics, barbering or other beauty professions in the state of New Mexico.
New Mexico Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1600 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1200 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: Contact the Body Art Board at 505-476-4622
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1000 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 650 Hours
New Mexico Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in New Mexico happens every year during the licensee's birth month. The cost to renew your beauty practitioner's license is $50. Make sure you renew by the last day of your birth month to avoid incurring a $40 late fee.
Cosmetology instructors must complete 12 hours of continuing education every year. All others do not require continuing education at this time, but cosmetology CEUs are always recommended if you want to be at the top of your game.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in New Mexico
In order to transfer your cosmetology license to New Mexico, you must furnish an affidavit from your home state's regulatory agency where you are actively licensed. The training you’ve completed must be equal to or greater than the training hours required in New Mexico.
If you have fewer than New Mexico's required training hours, you may substitute up to 150 hours of verified work experience in lieu of the minimum hours. The rest must be made up in an approved beauty school program.
NM State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
New Mexico Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists
2550 Cerillos Road, 2nd Floor Toney Anaya Building
PO Box 25101
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number: 505-476-4622
Fax Number: 505-476-44665
The New Mexico State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists can help you with renewing your cosmetology license, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a New Mexico cosmetology license from out of state.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies