Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Oklahoma Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: October 28, 2015
Those who are considering a beauty career in the state of Oklahoma must learn about the licensure requires of the . When getting an Oklahoma cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Oklahoma's minimum required training hours, which allows you to take the licensing exams required for your specialty.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass licensing exams issued by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology, including a skills exam and a written exam. The state of OK does allow apprenticeship as a way of earning your training hours in all careers except teaching—check the hour requirements below. Oklahoma uses PSI to administer the board exams and allows you to take the exam in the English language only.
Currently, Oklahoma does not have any continuing education requirements in place for any beauty practitioner licenses. For specific questions, please contact the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology directly for more information.
Find Oklahoma beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours (3000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (3000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- COSMETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours (1200 Hours Apprenticeship)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours (1200 Hours Apprenticeship)
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours (1200 Hours Apprenticeship)
- HAIR BRAIDING LICENSE: 600 Hours (1200 Hours Apprenticeship)
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1000 Hours or 500 Hours with 2 Years of Recent Work Experience
Oklahoma Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Oklahoma happens every year during the licensee's birthday month. You must renew by the last day of your birth month to avoid a late fee of $10. The cost to renew a beauty practitioner's license is $25.
Cosmetology continuing education hours are not currently required to renew your license, but cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry. The only exception to this renewal date is barbering—barbers must renew their license by the last day of June every year.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Oklahoma
To transfer your cosmetology license to Oklahoma, your education and work experience needs to be equal to or greater than the Oklahoma requirements. You should also have 3 years of currently licensed work experience. If you have just one or the other, you may be required to take the Oklahoma board exams. If you are short of both, you may be required to take additional training hours at a board-approve Oklahoma cosmetology school. The cost to transfer your license is $65.
OK State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology can help with updating a change of name or change of address as well as answer any questions about your Oklahoma cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies