Want more information?
Oregon State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Oregon Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Oregon, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Oregon cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Oregon's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Oregon State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Oregon cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Oregon. Keep in mind, even though Oregon may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Oregon annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the OR Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of OR does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. OR allows you to take the boards in the English language only.
Find Oregon beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Oregon.
Oregon Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 2300 Hours
- HAIRSTYLIST LICENSE: 1450 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1100 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 250 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: Contact the Body Art Board
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: Contact the Body Art Board
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Contact the Dept. of Education
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Oregon Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Oregon happens every 2 years at the end of the month of licensure. Cosmetology licenses can be renewed online for $40, or in person or by mail for $45. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for most licenses - except for electrology and permanent makeup which do require continuing ed - but cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Oregon
If you are an out-of-state applicant applying to transfer your license to Oregon, you must get verification of current licensure in good standing from your home state directly from the out-of-state regulatory authority. You must take the Oregon Laws & Rules examination, and pass the exam for your field of practice. There is a $100 fee to transfer your license to Oregon.
OR State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Oregon State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Oregon state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies