Want more information?
Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Pennsylvania Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: October 28, 2015
To obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, or nail technology in the state of Pennsylvania, you must meet the education requirements listed below from the . When getting a Pennsylvania cosmetology license or another beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Pennsylvania's minimum required training hours. From there, you can get your license by taking the state's cosmetology board exams.
The state of Pennsylvania does allow apprenticeship as a way of obtaining your cosmetology training hours. Pennsylvania uses an outside agency to administer board exams. Cosmetology, esthetics and nail technician boards can be taken in English, Spanish, Vietnamese or Korean. Cosmetology instructor boards may be taken in English language only.
Pennsylvania is one of many states that does not currently have any continuing education requirements for licensees or those who are renewing their licenses. For specific questions, please contact the Pennsylvania Board of Cosmetology directly—contact information is at the bottom of the page.
Find Pennsylvania beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1250 Hours (2000 Apprenticeship Hours)
- BARBER LICENSE: 1250 Hours (695 Hours if Already a Licensed Cosmetologist)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 300 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 200 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: Contact County Health Department
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 500 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
Pennsylvania Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Pennsylvania happens every 2 years. Practitioner licenses cost $67 to renew and cosmetology instructor licenses cost $105 to renew. Cosmetology continuing education hours are not currently required to renew licenses in Pennsylvania, but cosmetology CEUs are always good to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has beauty practitioner license reciprocity with most states, but does not have reciprocity with Connecticut, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, New Mexico, New Jersey, Rhode Island and Utah. Nail technician licenses have no reciprocity with South Carolina, Alabama or West Virginia. There is a $60 fee to transfer your license to Pennsylvania.
PA State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer questions about obtaining a Pennsylvania license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies