Want more information?
South Carolina State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
South Carolina Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of South Carolina, students must complete the requirements listed below from the South Carolina State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a South Carolina cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of South Carolina's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the South Carolina State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your South Carolina cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of South Carolina. Keep in mind, even though South Carolina may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in South Carolina annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the SC Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of SC does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours, though barbering allows on-the-job training. SC uses PSI to administer the board exams, and they allow you to take board exams in the English language only.
Find South Carolina beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of South Carolina.
South Carolina Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (12 Months On-The-Job Training)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 450 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 300 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 2 Years Work Experience + 45 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
South Carolina Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in South Carolina happens every 2 years by March 10. Operators are required to get 12 hours of cosmetology continuing education during every 2-year licensure period, and instructors are required to get 24 hours. Cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in South Carolina
To transfer your cosmetology license to South Carolina, your education and work experience needs to be equal or greater to the SC requirements. If SC does not have reciprocity with your state and you are not currently licensed but have the training hours completed, you must take the South Carolina board exams to get licensed.
SC State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The South Carolina State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a South Carolina state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies