South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
South Dakota Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of South Dakota, students must complete the requirements listed below from the South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a South Dakota cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of South Dakota's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your South Dakota cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of South Dakota. Keep in mind, even though South Dakota may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in South Dakota annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the SD Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of SD very rarely allows apprenticeship to get your training hours. SD allows you to take board exams in the English or Vietnamese language.
Find South Dakota beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of South Dakota.
South Dakota Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 2100 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 400 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1000 Hours Work Experience + 1012 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
South Dakota Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in South Dakota happens annually. Cosmetology instructors are required to get 12 hours of cosmetology continuing education per year. Personal beauty practitioner licenses cost $20 to renew. Operator licenses do not require continuing education about cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in South Dakota
To transfer your cosmetology license to South Dakota, your education and work experience needs to be equal or greater to the SD requirements. The application fee to transfer your license is $100. You must also provide of high school graduation or GED, a passport or driver's license, and possibly an affidavit depending on your home state.
SD State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a South Dakota state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies