Want more information?
Virginia State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Virginia Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: January 25, 2014
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Virginia, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Virginia cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Virginia's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Virginia cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Virginia. Keep in mind, even though Virginia may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Virginia annually to stay current on the latest trends.
For specific questions, please contact the VA Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of VA does allow apprenticeship to get your training hours for some licenses. VA uses PSI to administer the board exams and allows you to take the boards in the English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean languages.
Find Virginia beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Virginia.
Virginia Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours (3000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (3000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- MASTER ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 1200 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 150 Hours (2000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 12 Months Student Instruction
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Virginia Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Virginia happens every two years at the end of the month it was issued. The cost to renew most practitioners' licenses in VA is $140. For Tattoo Makeup, a minimum of 5 hours of safety and sanitation continuing education is required. Otherwise, cosmetology continuing education hours are not required in VA, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Virginia
Virginia offers licensure by endorsement. The examination requirements for licensure by endorsement in VA is based on examinations previously completed in your home state. The cost to transfer your license to VA is $140.
VA State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Virginia State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Virginia state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies