Vermont State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Vermont Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: April 25, 2013
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Vermont, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Vermont State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Vermont cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Vermont's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Vermont State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Vermont cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Vermont. Keep in mind, even though Vermont may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Vermont annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the VT Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of VT does allow apprenticeship to get your training hours for some licenses. VT allows you to take the boards in the English language only.
Find Vermont beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Vermont.
Vermont Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1000 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- MASTER ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 1200 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 400 Hours (900 Hours Apprenticeship)
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 3 Years Active Work Experience + Instructor Exam
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: Varies by Municipality
Vermont Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Vermont happens every two years on November 30 in odd-numbered years. The cost to renew practitioners' licenses is $120. Vermont requires 24 cosmetology continuing education hours to renew instructor licenses only, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Vermont
Vermont offers licensure by endorsement. If the requirements of your home state are equivalent to VT's, you should only be required to take the state's Laws & Rules exam and pay a transfer fee of $90.
VT State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Vermont State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Vermont state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies