Want more information?
Wisconsin State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Wisconsin Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: July 6, 2013
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Wisconsin, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Wisconsin State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Wisconsin cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Wisconsin's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Wisconsin State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Wisconsin cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Wisconsin. Keep in mind, even though Wisconsin may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Wisconsin annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the WI Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of WI does allow apprenticeship to get training hours for some licenses. WI uses Pearson Vue to administer the boarding exams, and allows you to take the board exams in the English language only.
Find Wisconsin beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1800 Hours (4000 Hours Apprenticeship)
- BARBER LICENSE: Coming Soon
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 450 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 300 Hours (300 Hours Apprenticeship)
- PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: Contact Department of Health Tattooing Dept.
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 450 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: License + 150 Hours + 2000 Hours Work Experience
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
Wisconsin Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Wisconsin happens every 2 years in March of odd-numbered years. The cost is $82 to renew licenses, or an additional $25 if the license is renewed late. Currently WI does not require cosmetology continuing education hours to renew licenses, however that may change in the 2015 renewal cycle. Cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Wisconsin
To transfer your license to Wisconsin, you must have 4000 hours of licensed experience and go through the WI license transfer application process. If you do not yet have 4000 hours of work experience, you will need to take the WI board exams.
WI State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Wisconsin State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Wisconsin state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies