West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
West Virginia Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of West Virginia, students must complete the requirements listed below from the West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a West Virginia cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of West Virginia's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your West Virginia cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of West Virginia. Keep in mind, even though West Virginia may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in West Virginia annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the WV Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of WV does allow apprenticeship to get some final training hours for barber licenses. WV allows you to take the board exams in the English language only.
Find West Virginia beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of West Virginia.
West Virginia Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1800 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1800 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE + PERM: 2000 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 400 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: Contact Local/Regional Health Dept.
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: Contact Medical Board
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 5 Years Recent Salon Experience
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
West Virginia Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in West Virginia happens every annually, expiring on December 31 of each year and renewal begins in January. WV requires cosmetologists to have 4 hours of cosmetology continuing education during each licensure period. The cost to renew practitioners licenses is $35. Continuing education may not be required for all licenses, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in West Virginia
To transfer your license to West Virginia, you must contact your home state's board of cosmetology that issued your original license and request that a board certification be mailed to the WV board. This form must be sent directly between the state boards. The board will accept licensed work experience in lieu of part of the required training hours. Work experience is awarded at 25 hours per month of licensed salon work, or 300 hours per year - you would need to show copies of your tax form. Total work experience accepted may not exceed 50% of the required hours to transfer, and it must have been acquired in the past 5 years. If you have not worked in the last 5 years, you must take the complete WV examinations over practical skills, the national written exam, the State written exam and the State law exam, which calls for a $50 fee.
WV State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
West Virginia State Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists
1201 Dunbar Ave.
Dunbar, WV 25064
Phone Number: 304-558-2924
Fax Number: 304-558-3450
E-mail Address: email@example.com
The West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a West Virginia state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies