Want more information?
Wyoming State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Wyoming Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Wyoming, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Wyoming State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Wyoming cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Wyoming's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Wyoming State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Wyoming cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Wyoming. Keep in mind, even though Wyoming may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours in Wyoming annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the WY Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The state of WY does not allow apprenticeship to get training hours for licenses. WY allows you to take the board exams in the English language only.
Find Wyoming beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Wyoming.
Wyoming Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 2000 Hours
- HAIRSTYLIST LICENSE: 1200 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: Contact the Board of Barbering
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- WAXING LICENSE: 125 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 400 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: Contact Department of Health Tattooing Dept.
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: Contact the Board of Medicine
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1000 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: Varies by Municipality
Wyoming Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Wyoming happens every 2 years in the month of the licensee's birthdays. The cost is $96 to renew licenses for 2. Currently WY does not require cosmetology continuing education hours to renew licenses, however cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Wyoming
To transfer your license to Wyoming, you must have an equal or greater number of training hours from your home state. If you do not meet WY's training hour requirements, you may be required to take the written and practical exam. Or, one year work experience can lower the cosmetology license hour requirements to 1600 hours to transfer. The cost to transfer your license is $273.
WY State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Wyoming State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Wyoming state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies