MAKEUP - COLORADO

Make-Up Artist Training
IN
Colorado

Colorado makeup artists can pursue a variety of careers within this colorful beauty occupation. Whether you want to prep models for the runway, TV anchors for their next segment, or a bride for her wedding, you can lead a life filled with creative personal connections. Plus, with the power of social media, you can even promote your presence like a rock star – just like this Colorado native who is a YouTube makeup celebrity thanks to her mother’s influence. And guess what her mom was? That’s right: A makeup artist.

The best way to choose the right makeup artist program in Colorado is pretty simple to figure out. Just use the search box above or browse the school listings below to start narrowing your best options. Make sure to ask each school you speak with how they help graduates transition from the classroom to their next job as a makeup artist. Many cosmetology schools have relationships with employers as well, which is always a great foot in the door to the next step!

State License Requirements
N/A

Colorado does not have any licensing requirements for makeup artists. However, to perform any other type of skin care, you must earn an esthetics license. These programs also cover makeup application. After graduating from a 550-hour training program, you can apply to take your test through PSI. The combined testing fee is $127. You receive your license after earning passing scores on the written exam and the practical exam.

Read more about makeup artistry in Colorado:

Education Details

Colorado makeup artists should seek programs that include a wide variety of course topics. The field of makeup stretches into so many industries, and there are endless techniques – it’s no wonder makeup artist programs can differ so greatly! We recommend choosing a program that also includes professional skills that will enhance your practice. You should also seek training that helps you understand and comply with all licensing laws in Colorado.

Makeup artist courses include •

  • Bridal •
  • Color theory •
  • Film/TV
  • Theatrical •
  • Effects and costume •
  • Sanitation and Colorado regulations
License Renewal
Hours required vary by licensure

However, the renewal process you will have to go through is every two years. Your deadline will be March 31st, and you’ll pay a fee of $50 fee to remain in good standing. You should also stay current by looking for workshops, additional courses and other ways you can stay current as a makeup artist.

Careers
$66,560*
Salary
19.20%*
Job Outlook Increase
Between 2012 - 2022
Working as a Makeup Artist

Makeup artists in Colorado are mostly employed within the theatre and entertainment industry. Artists assist with the process of applying various types of makeup to both actors and actresses, and are often employed with multiple companies as independent contractors. There are 3,060 individuals currently employed as makeup artists, most of which are located within large metropolitan areas. The average annual salary for makeup artists is $66,560. Some major performing arts organizations that are likely to hire makeup artists include:

State board Contact Information

Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetologist Licensing
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number: 303-894-7800
Fax Number: 303-894-0364
E-mail Address: dora_barber-cosmetology@state.co.us

Contact the Colorado State Board of Cosmetology if you need help replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating a change of name or change of address or for any additional questions about obtaining a Colorado state cosmetology license.

Find the Beauty Schools in Colorado that interest you below, then request more information to get started.