BARBERING - MASSACHUSETTS

Barbering
IN
Massachusetts

Massachusetts barber schools can train you to become a master men’s stylist, and help you understand the gentle skills required to give smooth shaves. Barbering connects generations of Massachusetts families, like the Osborne family at Union Street Barber Shop in Rockland. This shop links three generations of men who view their haircutting skills as a source of pride, and a stable, long-term profession. If you want to start your own legacy with your own shop, or take advantage of a new Massachusetts law that allows barber house calls, you’ll need to choose the right training.

If you’re ready to compare Massachusetts cosmetology schools that offer barbering programs, you’re in luck! We happen to have several years of experience helping millions of students pursue their dreams in the beauty industry. Just use the search box above or scan the list of schools below to narrow your options. Or, if you just want to know the quick facts about hours, licensure, cost etc., then just keep reading.

State License Requirements
1,000
Hours

Before you can start working as a barber in Massachusetts, you have to meet specific training and testing requirements. This state requires 1,000 hours of training. The testing fee is $115 and the licensing fee is $20. To become a master barber, you must work as an apprentice under a master barber for at least 18 months. The testing fee is $181 and the licensing fee is $78.

Get more licensing information below:

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering

Education Details

Massachusetts barbering programs can teach you several skills that are making a comeback as men embrace more fashionable, complex styles. In fact, many barbering programs include coloring, permanent waving, and other skills that used to be strictly associated with women’s styles. You may even find programs that include entrepreneurship and shop ownership learning outcomes.

Massachusetts barbering courses can include: •

  • Hairpieces •
  • Mustache and beard styling •
  • Shaving, facial massage and treatments •
  • Disorders of the skin
License Renewal
0
License Renewal Hours
1 Year*
License Renewal Period

If you want to renew your barber license in Massachusetts, you will need to do so through the Massachusetts Board of Cosmetology and Barbing, since these once separate agencies merged in 2015. You will need to renew your barbering license every two years, by December 31st in odd-numbered years. The renewal fee for your master barber license is $78. If you pay late, you will pay an additional $57 to renew. Before you worry about license renewal, let’s help you find the right barbering program, with at least 1,000 hours of training, to help you meet Massachusetts barbering requirements.

Careers
$41,230
Salary
10.10%*
Job Outlook Increase
Between 2012 - 2022
Working as a Barber
State board Contact Information

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetologists
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118
Phone Number: 617-727-9940
Fax Number: 617-727-1627
E-mail Address: sandra.m.velasquez@state.ma.us

The Massachusetts State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, or updating a change of name or address information, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining your Massachusetts cosmetology license.

With the amount of fine barbershops and salons increasing in Massachusetts,
the demand for more tonsorial professionals is constant. All potential barbers
begin their careers by using this information.

Massachusetts Barber FAQ
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Barbers
Massachusetts Barber License Program Candidate Handbook

Find the Beauty Schools in Massachusetts that interest you below, then request more information to get started.