MASSAGE THERAPY - NEW JERSEY

Massage Therapy
IN
New Jersey

Are you interested in becoming a massage therapist in Jersey? Pursuing training in massage techniques and modalities can prepare you for a career in a growing industry.

Many recent New Jersey massage school graduates find the state to be an appealing location due to the large number of employers, as well as the close proximity to other major metropolitan areas, such as New York City, Philadelphia, and Washington, D.C. New Jersey requires its massage professionals to complete a certain amount of training before working as a therapist (see below).

State License Requirements
500
Hours

The New Jersey state Massage, Bodywork and Somatic Therapy Examining Committee regulate licensing massage therapists. Therapists must complete a course of study in bodywork therapy and massage that is at least 500 hours. The education must include coursework in anatomy, physiology, ethics, law, massage theory and practice along with at least 100 hours of clinical practice. Most massage schools in NJ have student massage clinics where students obtain this practice while offering massage therapy to citizens of their area. Massage professionals seeking licensure also must pass one of several national certification exams: the NCBTMB, the MBLEx, or the Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination offered by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM). Upon completion of these requirements, students are eligible to receive their massage therapist license.

Education Details

Massage therapy is a growing professional career for residents of New Jersey and throughout the nation. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates a gain of 20% in this field by 2020. Students at New Jersey massage colleges will learn to manipulate patients' bodies with motion and pressure to ease pain and provide a multitude of benefits for the body, mind and soul. A person who completes a massage therapy education program and becomes licensed to practice can be a professional in a continuously growing field. You may gain a great education along with a new outlook on life and about yourself through this new career path.

License Renewal
0
License Renewal Hours
2 Years
License Renewal Period

Cosmetology license renewal in New Jersey happens biannually on even-numbered years. The cost to renew a beauty practitioner's license is $60. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for most licenses, although electrology licensees must do 2 CEUs each licensure period. Though continuing education may not be required for some practitioners' licenses, cosmetology CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry. If licenses are expired more than 7 years, you must take a 250-hour refresher course and you must re-take the exams.

Careers
$44,290
Salary
21.9%
Job Outlook Increase
Between 2012 - 2022

In New Jersey, professional licensed massage therapists earn an average median salary of $32,380, with salaries ranging from $17,050 to $50,590 on average according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. These salaries do not include tips, which many therapists working at spas and resorts or in private practice earn from their satisfied clients.

Working as a Massage Therapist

The metropolitan area containing Wilmington, Delaware, parts of Maryland and parts of New Jersey ranks 9th in the nation for highest annual salary for massage therapists. Licensed professionals in the state are employed as massage or shiatsu therapists in medical, chiropractic and physical therapy offices, gyms, spas, salons, resorts, on cruise ships and in their own private practices. Some are even able to make a full-time living while working only part-time hours. Completing massage therapy school can provide you with training you need to start a rewarding career as a licensed massage therapist working in New Jersey.

State board Contact Information

The New Jersey Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy is located at 124 Halsey Street, Newark, New Jersey 07102. They can be contacted in three forms: Phone (973) 504-6520, Fax (973) 648-3481, and email askconsumeraffairs@dca.lps.state.nj.us. Having a license in from this board is a must to practice massage therapy in the state of New Jersey, but it is important to have contact and associations with other professional associations to network and brush up on further education. Below, there are a couple of professional associations based in New Jersey to help with networking:

Find the Beauty Schools in New Jersey that interest you below, then request more information to get started.