Alabama Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Alabama Board of Cosmetology License Information

Last Updated: December 27, 2012

In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Alabama, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Alabama State Board of Cosmetology. When getting an Alabama cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school or complete an apprentice program and complete the state of Alabama's minimum required training hours and then take and pass the written and practical exams required by the State. Once you pass this these exams, you will receive your Alabama cosmetology license shortly thereafter. Keep in mind, even though Alabama may not require continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking continuing education hours annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the AL Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. Alabama uses PSI to provide the cosmetology exam and PCS for the practical exam, and only allows applicants to take the practical and written exams in English.

Find Alabama beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology, and other programs in the State of Alabama.

Alabama Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Alabama Cosmetology License Renewal

Cosmetology licenses in Alabama must be renewed every two years in odd years in the applicant's birthday month. The Master license requires 8 hours of continuing education and the Instructor license requires 16 hours. No continuing education hours are required for the other standard beauty practitioner licenses in Alabama as long as your cosmetology license is renewed on time. If your license is expired for 3 or more years, you must re-take the practical exam. The cost is $80 to renew on time, or $130 if you are renewing late.

Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Alabama

The Alabama Cosmetology Board does accept reciprocity from other states. This does depend on the training, testing and length of licensure. You must request Certification be sent to the Alabama Cosmetology Board from the state you are currently licensed. The process begins when the office receives your Certification.

AL State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Alabama Board of Cosmetology
100 N. Union St., #320
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone Number: 334-242-1918
Fax Number: 334-242-1926
E-mail: cosmetology@aboc.alabama.gov

The Alabama State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining an Alabama state cosmetology license.

Find Cosmetology Schools

Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:

Sponsored Links

Beauty Scholarship