Want more information?
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Georgia Board of Cosmetology License Information
Last Updated: December 27, 2012
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Georgia, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Georgia cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Georgia's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams. After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Georgia cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Georgia. Keep in mind, even though Georgia requires only 5 hours of continuing education to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking additional cosmetology continuing education hours in Georgia annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the GA Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. The Georgia cosmetology board exams are administered only in the English language. If barber license applicants are convicted of a felony, they must go before the board to attend school or get licensed, per a law passed in 1937. Each applicant will be considered on a case-by-case basis. GA does allow apprenticeship - see the required hours below.
Georgia Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours / 3000 Hours Apprenticeship
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 1000 Hours / 2000 Hours Apprenticeship
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 525 Hours / 2050 Hours Apprenticeship
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours / 3000 Hours Apprenticeship
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: License + 750 Hours + Written/Practical Exam
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Georgia Cosmetology License Renewal
Georgia beauty practitioner licenses must be renewed every two years, by March 31 of even-numbered years. The current cost to renew your license is $50. GA requires you to complete 5 cosmetology continuing education hours during each period to renew.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Georgia
Applicants who wish to transfer their licenses from other states must submit a reciprocity application to the board, verification of licensure in your home state, and proof of your cosmetology training hours. The board will review all applications for transfer. Reciprocity is usually granted to applicants who have current cosmetology, nail technician or esthetician licenses from other states or countries where there are similar education and licensure requirements that are substantially equal to those in this GA.
GA State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology
237 Coliseum Dr.
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone Number: 478-207-2440
Fax Number: 866-888-1176
E-mail Address: None
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Georgia state cosmetology license.
Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:
FAQ Quick Links
- Vital Statistics
- Is Cosmetology School for Me
- Choosing the Right School
- School Programs
- Tuition and Financial Aid
- School Requirements
- Finding Your First Job
- Professional Careers in the Cosmetology Industry
- Laws and licenses
- State-by-State License Requirements
- Cosmetology School Tools and Supplies