Texas Board of Cosmetology & TX Cosmetologist License Requirements

Texas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Texas Board of Cosmetology License Information

Last Updated: January 21, 2014

In order to obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Texas, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Texas State Board of Cosmetology. When getting a Texas cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must attend a licensed school and complete the state of Texas's minimum required training hours and then take the state's cosmetology board exams. Currently the board still divides licenses into ones that fall under a cosmetology statute and the training can be earned at a cosmetology school, and ones that fall under a barbering statute and the training can be earned at a barber school. Both statutes include hair, nail and skin care licenses. 

After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Texas State Board of Cosmetology Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Texas cosmetology license shortly thereafter. You're now able to work in the state of Texas.

Keep in mind, even though Texas only requires 4 continuing education hours for licenses under their cosmetology statutes (but none for barber statutes) to renew some licenses, you may wish to consider taking additional cosmetology continuing education hours in Texas annually to stay current on the latest trends. For specific questions, please contact the TX Board of Cosmetology directly for more information. Texas allows applicants to take the cosmetology board exams in English, Spanish or Vietnamese languages. You may be able to bring in a reader (interpreter) to help with PSI exams in other languages.

Find Texas beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in the State of Texas.

Texas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements

Texas Cosmetology License Renewal

Texas requires you to renew your license every two years by the date of your original licensure. The cost to renew your license is $50. Barbers are now $55 to renew. Cosmetologists, manicurists and estheticians under the cosmetology statutes are required to take 4 hours of continuing education during their licensure period, unless their license expired prior to September 1, 2012 when the requirement was still 6 hours of continuing education. The barber statute licenses do not require continuing education to renew licenses.

Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Texas

Texas does have reciprocity with certain states. Reciprocity and transfer is largely based on whether your home state has equivalent or greater education and testing requirements. There is no reciprocity with Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania or Puerto Rico, so talk to the TX board about whether special exams or additional training hours are required if you're from one of those states. The cost to transfer your license to Texas is $100.

TX State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
920 Colorado
Austin, TX 78701 
Phone Number: 512-463-6599
Fax Number: 512-475-2871
E-mail Address: cs.cosmetologists@license.state.tx.us

The Texas State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Texas state cosmetology license.

Find Cosmetology Schools

Cosmetology Licensing Information for Other Nearby States:

Sponsored Links

Beauty Scholarship