Massage Therapy Schools in New Mexico
Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in New Mexico, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in New Mexico
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
5001 Montgomery Boulevard Northeast
Albuquerque, NM 87109
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Massage Therapy Schools Near Me
Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in New Mexico have to offer.
How to Become a Masseuse in New Mexico
- 650 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 16 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for massage therapists in New Mexico is $41,260 ($19.84/hour). This is lower than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
- There is a predicted 19% job increase between 2016-2026 for massage therapists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 22%.
Nothing releases stress—physical or mental—quite like a massage. That's why getting a massage is considered such a treat.
If you enjoy working with your hands and you want to start a career based in science, you may be a great fit for the field of massage therapy
State License Requirements
Required to earn a massage therapy license
The curriculum for your New Mexico massage program should last at least 650 hours, as required by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Throughout the course of your education, you may cover anatomy and physiology in great detail.
The curriculum for your New Mexico massage program should last at least 650 hours, as required by the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Throughout the course of your education, you may cover anatomy and physiology in great detail. This allows you to start studying assessment and treatment techniques for different types of pain and medical conditions. Some of your curriculum may focus on business skills, as you may opt to become self-employed or open your own massage business. Hands-on practice is a crucial aspect of this program—plan on spending several hundred hours working with a variety of clients.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
The state of New Mexico requires all massage therapists to complete at least 650 hours of practical training to work professionally. After you finish training, you will take a written exam and turn in your application for initial licensure. The fee for this is $75. Once approved, you will renew your license every two years, and include a fee for $75 with your submission. New Mexico also requires all massage therapists to complete at least 16 hours of continuing education requirements per renewal period.
New Mexico Massage Therapy Careers
Average yearly salary for massage therapy in New Mexico
New Mexico has a strong and growing need for massage therapists. Through the year 2026, CareerOneStop hopes to see a 19% increase in massage therapist jobs. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that New Mexico massage therapists earn an average salary of $41,260 per year (BLS, 2020).
Completing a massage therapy degree or certificate can prepare you for a variety of career paths. Many new massage therapists choose to gain experience and build their CV by working for a spa or salon that offers massage services. Once you've built a reputation for yourself and you feel confident in your abilities, you may decide to work as a freelance masseuse or open your own massage business. This may allow you to charge more, keep more of the money you earn, and create a business that reflects your values. Whether you are employed by a salon or self-employed, most of your day should be spent with clients. A small portion of your day may be spent on marketing and business management.
Contact the New Mexico State Board of Massage Therapy
- 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
- Website: New Mexico Regulaiton and Licensing Department
- Email: email@example.com
- Call: 505-476-4622
- Fax: 505-476-4620