Massage Schools in Wisconsin
Browse our directory of massage schools in Wisconsin, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Massage Schools in Wisconsin
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
353 East Campus Mall
Madison, WI 53715
327 East Saint Paul Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53202
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Massage Schools Near Me
Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in Wisconsin have to offer.
How to Become a Masseuse in Wisconsin
- 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 24 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for massage therapists in Wisconsin is $42,510 ($20.44/hour). This is higher than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
- There is a predicted 18% job increase between 2016–2026 for massage therapists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 22%.
If you are interested in a career in the beauty industry, you likely are looking for a career that allows you to make people feel better about themselves and enjoy life a little more. Massage therapy fits the bill on both counts.
If you would like to learn how to relieve stress, ease physical pain, and encourage relaxation, keep reading to learn more about massage therapy programs in Wisconsin.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a massage therapy license
The state of Wisconsin has a 500-hour training requirement for massage therapists in this state. There is a written exam and then a $150 fee with your initial license application.
Any good massage therapy program begins with an understanding of how the human body functions. By studying the anatomy and physiology of the human body, you can learn how to alleviate pain in different parts of the body with massage techniques. Once you've tackled this area of your education, you may move on to specific types of massage and massage techniques. As you discover each massage technique, you may practice it with peers and real clients. This gives you the chance to fine-tune your technique based on the needs of your customers.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
After you get licensed, you will need to renew every two years, and pay a $53 fee. Wisconsin also requires 24 continuing education credits every two years. To make sure you have a clear picture of what you need to do to earn your massage therapist license in Wisconsin, start talking to schools in your area today to start charting your course to success.
Wisconsin Massage Therapy Careers
Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Wisconsin
All over Wisconsin, the need for massage therapists is growing. Between 2016 and 2026, CareerOneStop anticipates an 18% increase in Wisconsin massage therapy jobs. The job outlook may be better in tourist areas, such as Door County and Wisconsin Dells. Massage therapy salaries in Wisconsin tend to be in line with nationally reported incomes. The average salary for a Wisconsin massage therapist is $42,510 per year (O*Net, 2020).
When you begin working as a massage therapist, it's likely that your days will be extremely structured and organized. Massage therapists rarely have walk-in appointments, instead choosing to book their schedule ahead of time. If you work in a spa or salon, you may line up your schedule with other professionals to ensure that clients get all the services they want. Before each appointment, you should spend some time communicating with your client. This may touch on the pain they are experiencing, what they want to get from their massage, and which type of massage they prefer.