Massage Therapy Schools in Texas
Browse our directory of massage therapy schools in Texas, or skip ahead to learn about the state's massage therapy licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Massage Therapy Schools in Texas
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
808 West I-20
Arlington, TX 76017
6804 Ingram Road
San Antonio, TX 78238
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Massage Therapy Schools Near Me
Check out the Massage Therapy schools these cities in Texas have to offer.
- Abilene / Sweetwater
- Beaumont / Port Arthur
- Corpus Christi
- El Paso / Las Cruces
- Harlingen / Weslaco / Brownsville / McAllen
- Odessa / Midland
- San Angelo
- San Antonio
- Tyler / Longview / Lufkin / Nacogdoches
- Waco / Temple / Bryan
- Wichita Falls / Lawton, OK
How to Become a Masseuse in Texas
- 500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 6 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for massage therapists in Texas is $45,090 ($21.68/hour). This is higher than the national average of $42,820 ($20.59/hour).
- There is a predicted 32% job increase between 2016–2026 for massage therapists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 22%.
Do you want to work with your hands? Would you like to help people? If so, then massage therapy might be the ideal vocation for you. As more hospitals, clinics and private practices utilize massage therapy as part of their treatment plans, the demand for trained massage therapists has increased dramatically. When you are ready to take the next step in your career, consider researching these massage schools in Texas.
Not only do massage therapists help people feel better, but they often get to work around their own schedules, and many even open up their own practices. But before you can start working on other people, you need to find Texas massage schools to get trained and licensed.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a massage therapy license
Massage therapy licenses in Texas require a minimum of 500 hours education in the practice of massage therapy. The Texas Department of State Health Services requires at least 125 hours of this to be in the Swedish massage therapy theory and technique. Other classes are required in anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, pathology, hydrotherapy, massage therapy laws, business practices, professional ethics, health and hygiene. A 50-hour internship is completed, wherein the student performs massages in a student clinic under the supervision of a massage therapy instructor. Following your education in the profession of massage therapy, you will need to pass either the NCETMB or the MBLEx national certification examination. The state can then issue a massage therapist license and you can be employed as a Licensed Massage Therapist in Texas.
The career of massage therapy in Texas is as big as the Lone Star State itself. The power of bodywork allows trained massage therapists to pamper, rejuvenate and treat clients for stress and pain management. Attending a massage therapy school in Texas can teach you to work with your hands and help people feel better. Massage therapists often are able to set their own schedules or even open their own private practices. More hospitals, clinics and medical practices are utilizing massage therapy as part of their treatment, so demand for massage therapists has increased proportionally. In fact, the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates the field of massage therapy will continue to grow by 20% over the next several years - faster than most professions. If these things appeal to you, you may be ready to take the next step in your career and begin learning about massage therapy schools in Texas.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
The Texas Department of Health and Human Services regulates the massage therapy industry in this state. To become qualified for licensure, you must first complete a 500-hour minimum training program. You will also have to take at least 6 hours of continuing education courses every year between your renewals. The cost for initial licensure is $117 for your application + $87 for your examination fee. When you renew, you will submit a $106 fee with your application and proof of continuing education.
Texas Massage Therapy Careers
Average yearly salary for massage therapy in Texas
Some massage therapists are able to earn a full time salary working only part time. While the practice of massage therapy is fulfilling, equally important is earning a living wage doing something you love. The annual mean salary for a massage therapist in Texas is $40,090 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Salaries in the Lone Star State range from $17,500 to $67,520 before tips. Texas also ranks third in the nation for highest employment of massage therapists. A career in massage therapy promotes health and healthier choices in massage clients. Is it time for you to investigate a Texas massage therapy school?
Job opportunities for massage therapists in Texas include spas, salons, gyms, wellness and health practices of all kinds, country clubs, sports teams and events, hotels, resorts and more. Many massage therapists choose to open their own business and see clients in their home or in the therapist's private office.
Contact the Texas State Board of Massage Therapy
- PO Box 12157, Austin, TX 78711
- Website: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 512-463-6599
- Fax: 512-463-9468