Esthetician Schools in New Mexico
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in New Mexico, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the esthetician schools that New Mexico has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best esthetician schools in New Mexico.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in New Mexico
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
2434 Cerillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Adorabella Beauty Academy – Accredited
Albuquerque, NM 87123
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
Check out the Esthetics/Skin Care schools these cities in New Mexico have to offer.
How to Become a Esthetician in New Mexico
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in New Mexico is $52,660.
- There is a predicted 38% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.
To become an esthetician in New Mexico, you must:
Many felony convictions may disqualify an applicant from receiving your license. These include:
Can I Get a Dual License in an Esthetics Area in New Mexico?
New Mexico offers a manicurist/esthetician license. This would let you offer more services to clients after a total of 900 training hours.
Estheticians in New Mexico can also specialize in medical esthetics. Medical estheticians often work in medical facilities helping patients with skin ailments. They may earn a higher salary due to having more specialized training.
Esthetician Salary and Projected Job Growth in New Mexico
Average yearly salary for esthetics in New Mexico
Estheticians in New Mexico make, on average, $52,660 annually or $25.32 per hour. But, location, specialties, services offered, and years of experience affect income.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the top 10% of estheticians in New Mexico earned $76,640 or more.
The job outlook for estheticians in New Mexico is bright. The state's number of skincare specialist jobs is expected to grow by 38% from 2020-2030!
The highest-paying metro area for estheticians in New Mexico is Albuquerque. There, the median annual pay is $47,490.
What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in New Mexico
Required to earn a esthetics license
Before taking New Mexico licensure tests, you need to finish 600 hours of esthetics training.
A state-approved esthetics curriculum must include the following:
Theory: 75 hours
Sterilization, Sanitation, Bacteriology: 75 hours
Facials: 350 hours
Salon business, retail sales: 50 hours
Required hands-on training:
Miscellaneous: 50 hours
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in New Mexico?
New Mexico doesn't offer esthetician apprenticeships. Instead, you must attend an esthetician school or program to become licensed.
New Mexico Esthetician Licensing Requirements
You have to pass New Mexico's law, theory, and practical tests to get your esthetician license. The theory and practical exams are in Spanish, Vietnamese, and English.
The theory exam covers the following:
Scientific concepts: 55 percent
Skin care and services: 45 percent
The practical exam covers the following:
The theory exam costs $130, and the practical exam costs $73.
If you need Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations, turn in a request form and documentation. The form is on the testing center Professional Credential Services' website.
New Mexico Esthetician Licensure Reciprocity
Estheticians with licenses from another state can transfer to New Mexico through reciprocity.
To receive reciprocity, applicants must:
If your training hours don't meet New Mexico's requirements, you may still be in luck. You could be able to substitute some experience or apprenticeship hours for training. Six months of work experience equals 150 hours of training. However these hours can't exceed 50 percent of the required training hours in New Mexico.
Military members and veterans don't have to pay an esthetics license fee for three years.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You need to renew your New Mexico esthetician license every two years. Each time, you need to file an application and pay $100.
New Mexico has a list of continuing education programs, though hours aren't required. Continuing education classes are always recommended, however, to help you stay up to date.
Contact the New Mexico State Board of Esthetics
- 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
- Website: New Mexico Regulaiton and Licensing Department
- Email: email@example.com
- Call: 505-476-4500
- Fax: 505-476-4545
Resources for Estheticians in New Mexico
New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
This government agency regulates the beauty industry in the state.
Frequently Asked Questions about Esthetician Programs and Careers
Our page answers common questions about esthetician training and the profession
National Coalition of Estheticians Association New Mexico Branch
An organization offering continuing education activities and helping estheticians become certified
New Mexico's Barbers, Cosmetologists, Estheticians & Nail Techs
A Facebook group for beauty professionals in New Mexico to connect and share advice.