Esthetician Schools in South Dakota
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in South Dakota, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the esthetician schools that South Dakota has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best esthetician schools in South Dakota.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in South Dakota
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Paul Mitchell The School Rapid City – Accredited
Rapid City, SD 57701
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
Check out the Esthetics/Skin Care schools these cities in South Dakota have to offer.
How to Become a Esthetician in South Dakota
- 600 education hours or 600 apprenticeship hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in South Dakota is $36,380
- There is a predicted 17% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians nationwide.
How to Become an Esthetician in South Dakota
To become an esthetician in South Dakota, you must:
Having a criminal record doesn't automatically exclude you from earning your license. But, you might be subject to scrutiny by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission (SDCC). That said, if you have a felony conviction related to esthetics in any way, the commission may turn you down.
In South Dakota, treatments offered by skincare experts must be noninvasive and superficial. You also can't perform nail treatments, scalp massages, or scalp treatments.
Medical estheticians and paramedical estheticians aren't recognized by the SDCC.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
South Dakota skincare courses last 600 hours and occur at state-approved esthetics schools. Classes cover topics and treatments including:
You must complete at least 90 hours in theory classes plus 30 hours of general education. Those 30 hours can be in any area where your school feels you need more study.
Schools must also have licenses and meet strict criteria. This includes providing enough workstations, access to essential equipment, and textbooks. A school can lose its license if it doesn't meet these standards.
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in South Dakota?
Required to earn a esthetics license
Yes, you can gain your South Dakota esthetics license via a 600-hour apprenticeship. The steps to do this are similar to the standard school program pathway. To qualify for a license through a South Dakota esthetics apprenticeship, you must:
As an apprentice, you need to undergo 40 hours of training every week, at no more than 10 hours per day.
South Dakota Esthetician Licensing Requirements
After 600 hours in an esthetics school or apprenticeship, it's time for exams. In South Dakota, the tests cover theoretical, practical, and legal esthetics topics. The SDCC administers all exams.
The first step is to mail in your exam application and pay the $100 fee. If you already have a job lined up, you need to pay a $6 temporary license fee.
Then, you get a notification of your exam date by mail. If you don't attend that day, the proctor marks you as unattended, and you have to apply and pay the fee again.
The state may make exceptions for illness or death of immediate family members. But, you need documentation.
Two weeks before the exam, the admission notice should arrive. You must bring this with you on exam day, as well as the following:
Theory Written Exam for South Dakota Estheticians
You can take the NIC esthetics written theory exam in English, Vietnamese, or Korean. You have 90 minutes to complete 110 questions, of which 100 contribute to your score. The exam includes the following sections:
Domain I: Scientific Concepts (55%)
Domain II: Skin Care and Services (45%)
Practical Written Exam
In South Dakota, the practical exam is also a written one. The NIC esthetics written practical examination is only in English.
You have 120 minutes to complete 70 questions, of which 60 contribute to your final score. The test splits into the following sections:
Domain I: Scientific Concepts (35%)
Domain II: Skin Care and Services (65%)
Before the test, your school should have turned in your Student Education Record (SER). Then, if you pass your tests, you get your license immediately.
If the commission hasn't gotten your SER, you won't receive the license until it does.
The SDCC follows the Americans with Disabilities Ac and is likely to provide exam accommodations to individuals with disabilities. You may need to contact the board ahead of time and provide documentation of your disability and how it could affect your exams.
South Dakota Esthetician License Reciprocity
You may get your South Dakota esthetics license via reciprocity if you have one in another state. That license must be valid and meet or exceed South Dakota licensure requirements.
If your training took fewer than 600 hours, you can substitute up to 300 hours with work experience. The SDCC can only count work experience gained in the state where you're licensed. For every two hours of work experience, you gain one educational training hour.
For example, if you worked 200 hours, you could count 100 training hours. If your work experience hours are more than five years old, you must also take a safety/sanitation course.
Aside from the training hours requirement, to obtain a reciprocal South Dakota esthetics license, you must:
Esthetician Specialties in South Dakota
If you want to advance your skills, you can take extra, one-time courses in specific treatments. You must pay a $35 verification fee for each one. The programs available are:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
All esthetics licenses in South Dakota must be renewed annually, on or before your birth date. It costs $25 to renew your license. If you postmark or pay your fees after the deadline, a $20 penalty fee is charged.
If your license expires, you must pay lapsed renewal fees plus $20 for each expired year up to five years.
After five years of a lapsed license, you have still have to pay those fees. But you must also take all three exams or pass a two-hour safety and infection control course.
There are no continuing education requirements for standard esthetician licenses in the state. But, you should keep up with new techniques to offer your clients and to stay relevant in the industry.
South Dakota Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in South Dakota
In South Dakota, the average salary for estheticians is $36,380, or $17.49 per hour. This is less than the national average of $37,300. But, the cost of living in South Dakota is 4% lower than the national average, too.
Salaries range from $28,760 to $49,300. Amounts vary based on factors like location, services, and experience level.
South Dakota doesn't publish its expected esthetician growth rate. Nationwide, the field should grow by 17% nationwide.
Contact the South Dakota State Board of Esthetics
- 221 W. Capitol, Suite 101, Pierre, SD 57501
- Website: South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 605-773-6193
- Fax: 605-773-7175
Resources for Estheticians in South Dakota
South Dakota Estheticians
This group is part of the NCEA. It supports high standards of practice through certification and continuing education.