Esthetician Schools in Louisiana
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Louisiana, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Louisiana
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
104 East Thomas Street
Hammond, LA 70403
3330 Veterans Memorial Boulevard
Metairie, LA 70002
Guy's Shreveport Academy of Cosmetology Inc – Accredited
Shreveport, LA 71105
Pat Goins Benton Road Beauty School – Accredited
Bossier City, LA 71111
Richport Technical College – Accredited
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 750 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average for estheticians in Louisiana is $34,540.
- There is a predicted 11% job increase between 2023 - 2030 for estheticians.
All estheticians in Louisiana must be licensed by the state board. License requirements include, but aren't limited to:
Can I Specialize in an Esthetics Area in Louisiana?
There are several special permits estheticians in Louisiana can apply for. These include:
Not all these specialists need esthetics licenses. But, having permits for these different skills could make you more desirable to clients.
Louisiana Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Louisiana
Louisiana esthetician pay depends on location, experience, services offered, and more. Estheticians in Louisiana make between $20,800 and $50,340 per year working full-time.
Louisiana esthetician jobs are expected to rise by 11% between 2020 and 2030.
The highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in Louisiana are:
|Metro Area||2022 Median Salary|
|Baton Rouge, LA||$37,060|
|New Orleans-Metairie, LA||$32,550|
Table information from O*Net (2023)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
Before you get your license, you need to spend 750 hours in a Louisiana-approved esthetician school.
The exact curriculum varies by program. But, every Louisiana esthetician school must cover the following:
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Louisiana?
No, you can't apprentice as an esthetician in Louisiana. Instead, you need to go through an esthetician school or program.
Louisiana Esthetician Licensing Requirements
Becoming a licensed esthetician requires more than schooling. After completing 750 hours in a Louisiana esthetician school, it's time for exams. You need to pass three esthetician tests: National theory, state, and practical.
You'll get the results of each test around two weeks after completion. You need at least 70% to pass. If you fail one part of the practical esthetician test, you can retake that bit and not worry about the rest.
After passing all three esthetician tests, it's time to submit your application and $25 fee.
Louisiana Esthetician State and Practical Exams
The state board administers the Louisiana state and practical esthetics exams. These tests cost $25 each.
The state exam covers Louisiana's beauty industry laws, rules, and regulations. Luckily, there's a one-stop shop for this information: The GoldBook, a comprehensive guide to Louisiana’s professional and occupational standards for cosmetology.
You show off your hands-on skills from esthetician school during the practical exam. These skills include sanitation, client prep, facials, makeup, and more.
All practical exam supplies need to be labeled in English, with no brand names visible.
Louisiana Esthetician Theory Examination
The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) administers the theory exam. You have 90 minutes to complete 110 questions, 100 of which factor into your final score.
The test covers all things esthetics, including:
Domain I: Scientific Concepts (55%)
Domain II: Skin Care and Services (45%)
This test costs $83.
ADA Accommodations for Louisiana Esthetician Tests
The Louisiana state board complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. It can provide esthetician exam accommodations to individuals with disabilities.
These can include:
Both you and your doctor need to turn in information about your needs.
Louisiana Esthetician Licensure Reciprocity
Do you have an esthetics license from another state and want to work in Louisiana? You may be eligible for reciprocity.
You need to turn in a reciprocity application and:
If your last state didn't need a practical test, you need to take the one in Louisiana.
Of course, there's almost always an exception to the rule. In this case, that's Florida.
If you have a full specialist or facial specialist license in Florida, you need to take more classes. Facial specialists can transfer 260 hours to their chosen Louisiana esthetician program. Full specialists can transfer up to 500 hours.
Options are also available for military reciprocity.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You have to renew your Louisiana esthetician license every year for $25. There are no required continuing education hours. But, it's a good idea to stay up to date to ensure you can offer your clients the best possible services.
If your license has expired, you have to pay extra fees when submitting your application:
And if it's been longer? You have to pass a Louisiana esthetician license restoration exam before renewing.
Contact the Louisiana State Board of Esthetics
Resources for Estheticians in Louisiana
Louisiana State Beauticians and Barbers Association
This group focuses on the standards and ethics of the Louisiana beauty industry.
This NCEA-run organization supports the Louisiana esthetics industry through certification and continuing education.
Louisiana Board of Cosmetology New Rules and Laws / GoldBook
Have a question about a rule or a law? The GoldBook is the Gold Standard for answering questions. This page should link to the most recent PDF if laws change.