There is no faster way to change someone's appearance than to improve the health of their skin. Healthy skin can make almost anyone look happier and more beautiful. That's just one of the reasons to get started in the field of esthetics in Colorado.
With a Colorado esthetician license, you can provide personalized advice to clients, find solutions to life-long skin problems, and build a loyal client base.
The process of earning an esthetics license is regulated by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. They verify your completion of 600 training hours and allow you to schedule your licensing exams, which include a $127 testing fee. With passing scores on the practical and skills exams, you earn your estheticians license and can get started in the field. Whether you want to work in an Ayurveda inspired spa in Boulder, or work in a plastic surgeons office in Denver, you should have many options to choose from.
Before you can start your career in this field, you have to meet the states rigorous training standards. To qualify for an esthetician's license in Colorado, you need at least 600 hours of education.
Required Esthetician Course Topics in Colorado
- Sanitation, sterilization, and safety
- Electricity, light therapy, and chemistry
- Massage, makeup, and skin care
- Laws, rules, and regulations
- Management and ethics
- Occupational safety
Barber, esthetician, hairstylist and manicurist licenses expire on March 31 of even-numbered years and cost $26 to renew or $41 to reinstate if you have allowed your license to lapse. All cosmetologist licenses expire on April 30 on an annual basis. These licenses cost $32 to renew or $47 to reinstate. Currently, no continuing education hours are required to renew your cosmetology license in Colorado. However, continuing education should be considered part of the field and part of doing business as a cosmetologist.
Overall, demand for estheticians is expected to increase 24% in Colorado by the year 2026 (O*Net, 2019). The average salary for a skin care specialist in Colorado is $52,020 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2019).
One of the most exciting parts of working in esthetics is the fact that you can work in so many different settings. Many hair salons have staff estheticians, and spas rely on esthetics services for most of their business. In Colorado, you may find opportunities at ski resorts and other tourist sites.
Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetologist Licensing
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number: 303-894-7800
Fax Number: 303-894-0364
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Contact the Colorado State Board of Cosmetology if you need help replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating a change of name or change of address or for any additional questions about obtaining a Colorado state cosmetology license.