Esthetician Schools in Rhode Island
The salaries for Rhode Island estheticians have grown exponentially in the past year alone, so now could be the perfect time to begin your skincare specialist career in the state. Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Rhode Island, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Rhode Island
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Providence, RI 02903
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
Check out the Esthetics/Skin Care schools these cities in Rhode Island have to offer.
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in Rhode Island is $44,090.
- There is a predicted 38% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.
To become an esthetician in Rhode Island, you must complete an esthetician program, pass a few exams, and meet several requirements. These requirements include:
What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in Rhode Island
Required to earn a esthetics license
Esthetician programs in Rhode Island take 600 hours to complete and include classes on skin care, science, and hair removal methods. You need to complete your training at a state-approved esthetician school. Some classes are theory-based, but most are comprised of hands-on practice.
In a Rhode Island esthetician program, you may study:
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Rhode Island?
No, you can't get your esthetician license through an apprenticeship in Rhode Island. Instead, you have to go to a state-approved esthetician school.
Rhode Island Esthetician Licensing Requirements
To get your Rhode Island esthetician license, you must complete training 600 hours; pass theory, written practical, and practical exams; and pay fees.
You can sign up for the tests online at PSI's website or by calling the testing proctor. The written exam costs $75 and can be taken an unlimited amount of times. The exams are available in Spanish, Vietnamese, and Korean, in addition to English. However, all supplies for the practical exam must be labeled in English.
Testing candidates needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations must submit a request online to PSI.
On exam day, arrive 30 minutes before your testing time and bring one form of valid, signature-bearing photo identification. You need a score of at least 70% to pass, and you immediately find out how well you did after finishing your test.
The written exam lasts 90 minutes and contains 100 scored questions covering:
Scientific concepts: 55%
Skincare and services: 45%
The written practical exam lasts 120 minutes and contains 60 scored questions covering:
Scientific concepts: 35%
Skincare and services: 65%
Rhode Island Esthetician License Reciprocity
Estheticians from other states can transfer their licenses to Rhode Island through reciprocity or endorsement.
Applicants from states with requirements equivalent to Rhode Island's need to:
If your state's requirements weren't at least equal to Rhode Island's, you could be granted up to 40 credit hours for each three-month period you worked (up to 200 hours). These hours subtract from any education you may still need.
Active military personnel, reservists, veterans, or military spouses can have license applications sped up by submitting an expedited form along with proof of their military status, such as a leave earning statement, letter from command, or copy of orders.
Esthetician License Renewal in Rhode Island
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You must renew your Rhode Island esthetician license every two years on or before Sept. 30. To renew, submit a renewal application and pay the $25 fee. Continuing education isn't required to renew your license, but it's recommended to help you stay current with the esthetics industry.
Esthetician Salary and Projected Job Growth in Rhode Island
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Rhode Island
The average salary for estheticians in Rhode Island is $44,090 annually or $21.20 per hour. The number of esthetician jobs in Rhode Island is expected to grow by 38% between 2020 and 2030. That's much faster than the national average of 17%.
Salaries in the state range, with the lowest-earning estheticians making $26,650 annually or less and the highest-earning making $58,240 or more. Factors such as specialties offered and location often impact an esthetician's income.ce.
The highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in Rhode Island are:
|Metro Area||2022 Median Salary|
|Norwich-New London-Westerly, CT-RI||$36,360|
Table information from O*Net (2023)
Contact the Rhode Island State Board of Esthetics
Resources for Estheticians in Rhode Island
Rhode Island Board of Barbering and Hairdressing
Government agency regulating the cosmetology industry in the state
National Coalition of Estheticians Association Rhode Island Branch
An organization offering continuing education activities and helping estheticians become certified