Esthetician Schools in Arkansas
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Arkansas, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Arkansas
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
311 South 16th Street
Fort Smith, AR 72901
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 480 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average for estheticians in Arkansas is $39,970.
- There is a predicted 17% job increase between 2021 - 2023 for estheticians.
An esthetician in Arkansas is a beauty professional who performs skincare services to enhance a client's appearance.
Being convicted of a felony or misdemeanor may disqualify you from licensure.
Can I Specialize in an Esthetics Area in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, you can perform various specialty esthetics services, including microneedling, eyelash extension application, and laser services with a Class 1 or Class 2 device. However, estheticians can't perform microblading services.
You can also work as a medical esthetician, performing specialized treatments such as post-burn care or plastic surgery recovery. These professionals tend to have additional training and often work in medical offices or rehabilitation centers.
A specialty area may open you up to more job opportunities and a higher salary. For instance, medical estheticians in Arkansas earn $47,004 annually on average. This is slightly higher than the state's typical esthetician salary.
Esthetician Salary and Projected Job Growth in Arkansas
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Arkansas
In Arkansas, estheticians make, on average, an annual salary of $39,970 or $19.22 per hour. This is slightly higher than the national average of $41,700 annually.
Esthetician wages in Arkansas range. But factors like location, specialty services offered, and experience affect an esthetician's income. The lowest-paid 10% of estheticians in Arkansas make $28,180 or less, and the top 10% of professionals earn $52,460 or more.
Job growth information isn't available for Arkansas. But nationally, the esthetician profession is expected to grow by 17% by 2031.
The highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in Arkansas are:
|Metro Area||2022 Median Salary|
|Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, Arkansas||$32,220|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2023)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a esthetics license
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Arkansas?
Arkansas doesn't offer esthetician apprenticeships.
Arkansas Esthetician Licensing Requirements
The written exam covers:
1. Scientific concepts (55 percent)
2. Skincare and services (45 percent)
Applicants needing Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations for the theory exam must contact the Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology Section for approval.
If you need ADA accommodations for the state law exam, you have to submit a request through the testing center, PSI. Tests are offered in Korean, Spanish, and Vietnamese in addition to English.
Arkansas Esthetician License Reciprocity
Estheticians from other states can apply for licensure in Arkansas through reciprocity.
To qualify, an applicant:
Active-duty military personnel in Arkansas, veterans applying within one year of being discharged, or their spouses can apply for automatic licensure.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Esthetician licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. To renew, the licensee must submit a license renewal application and pay the $50 renewal fee no later than 30 days following the expiration date.
You can renew your license up to five years after it expires. If five years have passed, the esthetician must submit an application form, pay the required fees, and retake the exam. However, veterans with lapsed licenses don't need to retake the exam.
No continuing education is needed to renew an esthetician license in Arkansas. Still, continuing education classes are always recommended to stay up to date in the esthetics industry.
Contact the Arkansas State Board of Esthetics
Resources for Estheticians in Arkansas
Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology Section
This is the government agency in charge of regulating the cosmetology profession in Arkansas.
National Coalition of Estheticians Association Arkansas Branch
This Arkansas Estheticians Facebook page serves as the webpage for the organization, offering continuing education activities and helping estheticians become certified.
Esthetician Connection – Arkansas
This is a private Facebook group for estheticians in Arkansas to share advice, support, and education.
Arkansas Beauty Community
This Facebook group is designed for beauty professionals and enthusiasts to share tips and recommendations and promote their work.
Frequently Asked Questions About Esthetician Programs and Careers
On this Beauty Schools Directory page, we answer common questions about esthetician training and the profession.