Cosmetology Schools in Arkansas
If you're obsessed with beauty and love makeovers, why not consider a career in cosmetology? This line of work offers a stable salary, freedom in your work schedule, and the ability to do what you love while making an income.
But before you can start working in a salon, you'll need to complete your cosmetology education. Browse our list of cosmetology schools in Arkansas below, or skip ahead to check out the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the cosmetology schools that Arkansas has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best cosmetology schools in Arkansas.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Arkansas
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Career Academy of Hair Design – Accredited
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Professional Cosmetology Education Center – Accredited
El Dorado, AR 71730
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
Check out the Cosmetology schools these cities in Arkansas have to offer.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Arkansas
- 1,500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Arkansas is $31,080.
- There is a predicted 5% job increase between 2020 and 2030 for cosmetologists.
In Arkansas, a cosmetologist is a beauty professional providing treatments to enhance a client's appearance, such as haircutting and styling, hair removal services, facials, and nail care. To become a cosmetologist in Arkansas, you'll need to fulfill certain requirements, which include:
Applicants must also submit a pre-licensure criminal background check petition. Applicants who have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving dishonesty or related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry will be barred from earning a cosmetology license unless the applicant can demonstrate to the board that they have been sufficiently rehabilitated.
Other crimes, like theft or prostitution, also bar a person from receiving a cosmetology license. Applicants can, however, submit a waiver request to the state board.
The following crimes will permanently disqualify a person from licensure:
Cosmetologist Salary and Projected Job Growth in Arkansas
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Arkansas
The outlook for beauty professionals is positive, with jobs for cosmetologists in Arkansas expected to grow by 5% between 2020 and 2030.
In Arkansas, salaries for cosmetologists ranged from $22,880 to $46,570 in 2021, depending on location, type of services provided, and years of experience. On average, cosmetologists in Arkansas earn $31,080 annually or an hourly wage of $14.94.
Median salaries for cosmetologists in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Arkansas are:
|Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Areas||2021 Median Salary|
|Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR||$29,320|
|Fort Smith, AR-OK||$23,370|
|North Arkansas nonmetropolitan area||$23,240|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2022)
What to Expect From a Cosmetology Program in Arkansas
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Before taking your licensure exam, you must complete 1,500 hours of cosmetology training at a state-approved beauty school. All cosmetology schools must abide by the state board's laws and rules to maintain licensure. Schools must renew their licenses no more than 30 days after the license expiration date. School owners can choose when their licenses expire—either annually or biennially on Dec. 31 or biennially on the license owner's birthday.
A standard cosmetology curriculum needs to include the below content:
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Arkansas?
Arkansas doesn't provide apprenticeship options for cosmetology licensure. Prospective cosmetologists have to attend a state-approved beauty school for their training and education.
Arkansas Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
After completing 1,500 hours of training, you must pass two state board cosmetology exams—written and practical.
You will contact the Arkansas Department of Health to apply for the examination. PSI Services administers the written exam, and you can contact them to schedule your exam after the health department deems you eligible. You will apply for the practical exam through your cosmetology school. The written test fee is $60, and the practical exam costs $65. You can retake the written test unlimited times in one year.
Students can take the written exam in English, Spanish, Korean, or Vietnamese. To apply for Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accommodations, you need to contact the Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology Section for approval.
On the day of the test, arrive at least 30 minutes before your scheduled time and bring one form of valid government-issued identification with a photograph and your signature, such as a driver's license, state ID, or passport. The test lasts 90 minutes and contains 110 questions.
The theoretical exam comprises four sections:
- Scientific concepts (30%)
- Hair care and services (40%)
- Skin care and services (15%)
- Nail care and services (15%)
You'll receive your written test scores immediately after you finish the exam. You must earn a score of 70% to pass.
All cosmetology schools administer a practical exam developed by the state's health department. Each school determines the allotted exam time and required supply list. You have to receive a score of 75% or higher to pass.
Arkansas Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
License reciprocity is available in Arkansas. Eligible candidates must provide proof that they've completed 1,500 hours of cosmetology training. To apply for a reciprocal license, you must:
Members of the military stationed in Arkansas, returning veterans, or their spouses applying for reciprocity within one year of discharge will receive automatic licensure.
Cosmetology Specialties in Arkansas
Arkansas offers cosmetology-related licenses in electrology, with reduced training hours for aspiring cosmetologists. Electrologists permanently remove hair using an electric needle or similar device. The electrologist license requires 350 hours of training in conjunction with a full cosmetology course or 600 hours without the cosmetology course.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You must renew your cosmetology license every two years—the expiration date is on the licensee's birthday. You can renew online by paying the $50 fee.
If your cosmetology license has expired for five or more years, you must take the appropriate examination and pay a fee to reinstate your license.
Contact the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology
- 4815 W. Markham Street, Slot #8, Little Rock, AR 72205
- Website: Arkansas Department of Health
- Email: Cosmo@arkansas.gov
- Call: 501-682-2168
- Fax: 501-682-5640
The state of Arkansas has recognized cosmetology as a bountiful field for anyone looking for a more eclectic career path for decades. The training process leads to many becoming polished professionals and also small business owners. Eager applicants go to these groups for more information.
Arkansas Cosmetology & Barber Association, Inc.
This organization is dedicated to advocating for beauty professionals and promoting continuing education in the field.
Arkansas Cosmetology School Owners Association
This group of Arkansas beauty school owners aims to improve the student experience by providing continuing education events and hosting student competitions.