Cosmetology Schools in West Virginia
Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in West Virginia, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in West Virginia
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Clarksburg, WV 26301
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,800 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 4 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in West Virginia is $20,830 ($10.02/hour). This is lower than the national average of $26,090 ($12.54/hour).
- There is a predicted 15% job increase between 2016-2026 for cosmetologists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 9%.
When you think about all of the different opportunities in the beauty industry, it's obvious why this is a great field to start your career in.
West Virginia cosmetology professionals work a range of schedules in many employment settings, so you may use your education to find an opportunity that fits your needs.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Cosmetology schools in WV aim to prepare you for the licensing exams required in this state. All of your application paperwork and testing paperwork should go through the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. They charge a $35 licensing fee. You must also pay a $99 fee to take the written, practical, and state law exams. The board verifies that you have completed at least 1800 hours of training at an approved cosmetology school in WV.
If a cosmetology career may be in your future, finding the right school is the first step. Finding a school that fits your learning style and career goals can empower you to grow and succeed throughout your career. Theory and practice should be interwoven throughout your training, although you may not begin working with real clients until you have completed a certain amount of hours. Students who attend accredited cosmetology schools in West Virginia should get plenty of experience in the following topics.
West Virginia Beauty Courses
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology license renewal in West Virginia happens every year, with all licenses expiring on December 31 of each year and renewal beginning in January. West Virginia requires cosmetologists to have 4 hours of cosmetology continuing education during each licensure period. The cost to renew a practitioner's license is $35.
West Virginia Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in West Virginia
Your income depends on whether you work in a salon, spa, or beauty shop, as well as which part of the state you live in. The average salary for a West Virginia cosmetologist is $20,830 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2020).
Beauty is truly a universal industry. Everyone needs beauty services, whether they have the same haircut for decades or they like to change their style every month. By developing your skills and your client communication skills, you can build strong connections with customers from different backgrounds and create a client base.
Contact the West Virginia State Board of Cosmetology
- 1201 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, West Virginia, 25064
- Website: West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
- Call: 304-558-2924
- Fax: 304-558-3450
The state of West Virginia has seen the cosmetology industry take hold and become a viable career path. There are aspects of cosmetology that fit well with the spirited sense of individualism that makes the state as distinctive as it is. Anyone looking to join those ranks make it a point to get information from these groups.