Cosmetology Schools in Maine
Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Maine, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Maine
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Bangor, ME 4401
319 Marginal Way
Portland, ME 4101
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,500 education hours or 2,500 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 14 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Maine is $25,490 ($12.25/hour). This is lower than the national average of $26,090 ($12.54/hour).
- There is a predicted 4% job increase between 2016-2026 for cosmetologists. This is lower than the expected national growth of 9%.
What do you have to offer the beauty industry? Are you passionate about customer service, a natural with nails, or a hair guru?
With salons and spas all over Maine, this is a state where you may get established as a cosmetology professional.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Getting a beauty license is a big step in your career, since you can't work independently with customers before you're licensed. This process is regulated by the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. They charge a $20 licensing fee and a $21 background check fee. To apply for a license, you need at least 1,500 hours of education at an approved school.
At licensed cosmetology schools in Maine, you can tackle the skills that employers and customers look for. From classroom hours that put you through cosmetology theory and terminology to salon hours that let you gain experience with real clients, every day you spend in beauty school is a valuable part of your education. Many areas of study are required in Maine because they are so important.
Maine Beauty School Subject Requirements
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Maine requires you to renew your license every year in October. The cost to renew your license is $20. Only cosmetology instructors are required to take continuing education hours to renew their licenses, for a total of 14 CEU hours each year. Even if you have a different type of license, you should plan on completing continuing education hours as part of growing in your career. Many employers require employees of all specialties to complete a certain amount of continuing education hours each year.
Maine Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Maine
Maine has a growing demand for cosmetologists and other beauty specialists. The average salary for a Maine cosmetologist is $25,490 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2020). By the year 2026, statewide demand for cosmetologists is expected to increase 4% (O*Net, 2019).
With tons of employment settings and options, you can use your training to explore different career paths in cosmetology. Salons may focus on fast, family-oriented service or detailed, high-end techniques. Nail salons may deliver the best nail art in town. Spas help busy professionals relax and unwind from a long day. Wherever your skills lie, you may find a beauty employer that can make use of them.
Contact the Maine State Board of Cosmetology
With the amount of fine barbershops and salons increasing in Maine, cosmetology has gained a firm foothold. The demand for more beauty professionals is constant as a result. All potential stylists begin their careers by using this information.