Cosmetology Schools in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has a bustling beauty industry, with the state cosmetology board issuing approximately 56,000 licenses every year to beauty students in the state. Ready to join their ranks? Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Oklahoma, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the cosmetology schools that Oklahoma has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best cosmetology schools in Oklahoma.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Oklahoma
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Indian Capital Technology Center – Accredited
Sallisaw, OK 74955
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
Check out the Cosmetology schools these cities in Oklahoma have to offer.
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Oklahoma
- 1,500 education hours or 3,000 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Oklahoma is $27,630.
- There is a predicted 15% job increase between 2020-2030 for cosmetologists.
If you want to work as a cosmetologist in Oklahoma and provide beauty services, you need a cosmetology license. Aspiring cosmetologists must meet several Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requirements before licensure, including:
Those with a criminal background may need to fill out additional paperwork as part of their license application, but it doesn’t automatically disqualify you from earning your license.
Oklahoma Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Oklahoma
Cosmetologists in Oklahoma earned an average salary of $27,630 annually in 2021 ($13.38 per hour). This wage is below the national average of $35,990, but Oklahoma is a more affordable place to live than many other parts of the country. Salaries vary across the state, ranging from about $18,000 to $39,000 per year.
Employment projections are fairly promising for cosmetologists in Oklahoma, with a 15% estimated job growth between 2020-2030.
The amount you can earn as a cosmetologist in Oklahoma will vary depending on several factors, such as the services you offer, your level of experience, and where you're based.
These are median cosmetologist salaries in several metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Oklahoma:
|Metropolitan and Non-metropolitan Areas||2021 Median Salary|
|Northwest Oklahoma nonmetropolitan area||$27,100|
|Northeast Oklahoma nonmetropolitan area||$26,850|
|Oklahoma City, OK||$24,600|
|Fort Smith, AR-OK||$23,770|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2022)
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Before obtaining a cosmetology license in Oklahoma, you have to complete at least 1,500 training hours at a licensed cosmetology school. The exact curriculum of each program may differ slightly, but according to state law, they must all cover the following:
- Theory: 150 hours
- Manicuring and Pedicuring: 90 hours
- Facials: 30 hours
- Scalp Treatments: 30 hours
- Shampooing and Conditioning: 60 hours
- Hair Styling: 390 hours
- Hair Color Treatments: 120 hours
- Hair Cutting and Shaping: 180 hours
- Lashes and Brows: 30 hours
- Personality and Shop Management: 180 hours
- Hair restructuring, Permanent Waving, and Chemical Relaxing: 240 hours
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Oklahoma?
It is possible to gain cosmetology licensure in Oklahoma via an apprenticeship. Cosmetology apprentices in Oklahoma must complete at least 3,000 hours of training. All apprentice training hours need to occur in an approved establishment under the supervision of a licensed instructor.
Oklahoma Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
To get licensed via a cosmetology program, you must complete at least 1,500 hours at an approved school. Once you’ve completed your hours, you should be ready to take your exams and apply for your license.
You need to take and pass a written theory exam and a practical exam to be eligible for licensure. Currently, PSI Services administers the written portion of the exam, and the state board administers the practical exam in association with the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC). You must achieve a passing grade of 75% on both tests.
You can apply for your exams, $45 each, up to 100 hours before completing your training program. You never lose your training hours, but you do have to pass the exams within one year of course completion. If this date passes, you must complete extra review hours to be eligible to register again.
The written exam takes 90 minutes to complete and is available in English, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Korean. In accordance with American Disabilities Act (ADA) regulations, students who believe they may need additional accommodations with their exams may request it at the time of registration.
The exam covers several topics, including scientific concepts, hair care and services, skin care, and nail care. You’ll receive your score immediately after exam completion.
On the day of your practical exam, plan to arrive at least 30 minutes before the start time, with all of your supplies labeled in English. You’ll cover the following topics:
- Work Area and First Client Prep: 15 minutes
- Thermal Curling: 10 minutes
- Hair Cutting: 30 minutes
- Work Area and New Client Prep: 15 minutes
- Chemical Waving: 20 minutes
- Predisposition Test and Strand Test: 10 minutes
- Highlighting with Foil, Virgin Application: 15 minutes
- Hair Color Retouch: 10 minutes
- Virgin Hair Relaxer Application: Untimed
- Blood Exposure Procedure: 10 minutes
If you fail either of the exams, you can re-register within one year and take it again. If you have not achieved licensure after one year, you must retake both parts of the exam.
Oklahoma Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
If you currently hold a cosmetology license in another state, you may be able to transfer it to Oklahoma via reciprocity. To apply for this, you must provide the state board with a completed application form, as well as proof of your current license from the agency that granted it. Applying for a cosmetology license via reciprocity costs $65.
Cosmetology Specialties in Oklahoma
If you already have your license but want to expand your services and skills, you can train to become a teacher. With your cosmetology license, two years of recent licensed work experience, and 300 hours of training, you can earn your license as a master cosmetology instructor helping students realize their goals of becoming beauty professionals.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology licenses in Oklahoma are valid for one year and must be renewed annually. They expire on the last day of the licensee’s birthday month and cost $25. There are no continuing education requirements, but it’s always wise to stay on top of new techniques in the field to ensure your services are relevant.
If your license has been expired for more than two months, you have to pay an additional $10 penalty fee. Licensees who let their license expire for longer (up to five years) might still be eligible for renewal, though back fees and penalties may apply. After five years, you must complete additional review hours and retake your written and practical exams to become licensed again.
Contact the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology
- 2401 NW 23rd, Suite 84, Oklahoma City, OK 73107
- Website: Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Call: 405-521-2441
- Fax: 405-521-2440
Oklahoma is state for trailblazers, further underscored by the many individuals who forge their own paths there. Cosmetologists are starting to make up a lion’s share of this group. To that end, their journey to become purveyors of fine hair care begins with these provided resources.
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
The state board in charge of licensing provides extensive resources for cosmetologists on their site, including FAQs, forms and applications, licensing and renewal information, and more.
Professional Beauty Association of Oklahoma
This organization for beauty professionals in Oklahoma shares industry information and seeks to further conversations about the future of the beauty industry in the state.