1,500 education hours or 3,000 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
You must renew your license every 2 years.
0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
The average salary for cosmetologists in Virginia is $26,510 ($12.74/hour). This is higher than the national average of $26,090 ($12.54/hour).
There is a predicted 11% job increase between 2016–2026 for cosmetologists. This is higher than the expected national growth of 9%.
Cosmetologists are in the business of making people look beautiful. If you've ever wanted to become a beauty professional, why not get started with a beauty education in Virginia?
Throughout your education, you can learn valuable, relevant skills that may make you an asset to local employers. We have over 1,000 beauty school listings to help you find the perfect program.
State License Requirements
1,500 Education Hours OR 3,000 Apprentice Hours
Required to earn a cosmetology license
After attending cosmetology school in VA, you can tackle the licensing process. Through the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, you can submit your application and your proof of 1500 training hours. Before you get your license, you have to pass a written exam and a practical exam.
High-quality training can help you feel more confident as you get started in this field. As a student, you can build your skills through the study of cosmetology theory and practical training. This includes work with real clients. Accredited schools are expected to teach the following topics.
What You Can Learn at Cosmetology Schools in VA
Sterilization and sanitation
Anatomy and physiology
Diseases and disorders of the skin and nails
Shampooing and rinsing
Finger waving, molding, and pin curling
Hair coloring and bleaching
Skin care and makeup
Wigs and hair pieces
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetology license renewal in Virginia happens every two years at the end of the month in which your license was first issued. The cost to renew a beauty practitioner license is $105. Cosmetology instructors must pay a license renewal fee of $150. Permanent makeup artists must complete a minimum of 5 hours of safety and sanitation continuing education. Otherwise, cosmetology continuing education hours are not required for most beauty professions in Virginia.
Virginia Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Virginia
Overall, job openings for cosmetologists are expected to increase 11% between 2016 and 2026 (O*Net, 2019). The average salary for a cosmetologist in Virginia is $26,510 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2019).
No matter how much experience you have in this field, you may thrive in the world of beauty if you have strong customer service skills, steady hands, and a passion for all things beauty. With your education and license, you may look into job openings all over Virginia. Popular employment settings include salons, nail shops, and spas. If you want to take on the role of business owner, you may even be able to open your own salon.
Contact the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Beauty care is a fine art in the state of Virginia, and this is reinforced with the abundance of quality salon facilities there. Cosmetology is a field looked upon with favor, and enterprising applicants look to learn more from these institutions.