Cosmetology Schools in Florida
Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Florida, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Florida
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Click here to learn more about the requirements in your state.
2800 34th Street North
Largo, FL 33771
3665 East Bay Drive Suite 164
St Petersburg, FL 33713
985 East Memorial Boulevard
Lakeland, FL 33801
4951-A Adamo Drive
Tampa, FL 33605
7820 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33434
7271 North State Road 7
Parkland, FL 33073
425 South Nova Road
Ormond Beach, FL 32174
5101 U.S. Highway 98 North
Lakeland, FL 33809
10083 East Adamo Drive
Tampa, FL 33619
4258 Okeechobee Boulevard
West Palm Beach, FL 33409
51 North State Road 7
Plantation, FL 33317
3831 West Vine Street
Kissimmee, FL 34741
1271 Semoran Boulevard
Casselberry, FL 32707
420 South State Road 7
Hollywood, FL 33023
5000 Coconut Creek Parkway C
Margate, FL 33063
7587-7599 South Dixie Highway
West Palm Beach, FL 33405
1901 North Federal Highway Unit 201
Pompano Beach, FL 33062
2525 Drew Street
Clearwater, FL 33765
Boca Raton, FL 33432
Charr-Nix's New Generation School of Beauty – Accredited
Vero Beach, FL 32966
Florida Academy of Health & Beauty – Accredited
Oakland Park, FL 33311
Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College – Accredited
Miami Lakes, FL 33014
New Concept Massage and Beauty School – Accredited
Miami, FL 33175
Prestige Health & Beauty Sciences Academy – Accredited
North Miami Beach, FL 33160
Miami, FL 33177
The Salon Professional Academy – Accredited
Melbourne, FL 32904
Find a Cosmetology School Near You
How to Become a Cosmetologist in Florida
- 1,200 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 year.
- 16 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for cosmetology in Florida is $24,640.
- There is a predicted 17% job increase between 2016 - 2026.
Cosmetology encompasses a wide industry of professionals specializing in beauty services meant to enhance a client's appearance. These services may include haircutting, coloring, and styling, nail and skincare treatments, makeup application, massage, and hair removal.
To become a professional cosmetologist in Florida, you need to meet the following requirements:
Florida Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Florida
Nationwide, the cosmetology profession is growing rapidly, with an expected job growth rate of 17%. In Florida, that rate is even higher at 19%.
Cosmetologist wages range, with some workers making as low as $20,220 per year and others earning as much as $54,590. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, cosmetologists in Florida earn an annual mean salary of $30,410 or $14.62 per hour.
The highest-paying metro areas for cosmetologists in Florida are:
What to Expect From a Cosmetology Program in Florida
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Florida cosmetologists must undergo a minimum of 1,200 hours of training before taking the licensure exam. In some circumstances, a school official may determine an esthetician student only needs 1,000 hours of education before taking the exam.
A typical cosmetology program in Florida is broken down into:
The curriculum also includes knowledge of Florida cosmetology laws and rules and regulations and sanitation and sterilization practices.
While not required for the licensure examination, students are also welcome to take the following optional coursework:
Due to the personal nature of the profession, estheticians need to have a strong working knowledge of infection control and modes of transmission. Before submitting your application for the cosmetology license exam, you must also take a four-hour-long Initial HIV/AIDS course approved by Florida's Board of Cosmetology.
Private cosmetology schools must be licensed by the Commission for Independent Education according to Chapter 1005 in Florida's state legislature. Schools licensed by the Commission for Independent Education must comply with the commission's rules on fair consumer practices.
Students can also pursue training at a cosmetology program in the public school system, a government-operated cosmetology program, or the Cosmetology Division of the Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind.
You must complete your education at an accredited institution to qualify for a Florida cosmetology license.
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Florida?
Florida doesn't accept an apprenticeship as a replacement for training hours.
Florida Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
You may apply for the cosmetology licensing exam after completing your training hours and tests. Your application must include a course completion certificate from a board-approved Initial HIV/AIDS course provider.
The exam is made up of two portions: a written theory and a written clinical section. The tests are administered by PearsonVue and cost $30 total. Applicants must pass both portions of the test within two years. If candidates fail to do so, then they must pass retake both portions.
The written theory section contains 65 multiple choice questions and is made up of five subject areas. The subject areas are divided into:
The written clinical portion comprises 65 multiple choice questions and divided into five subject areas. The subject areas are:
As of 2020, both portions of the exam can be taken at a testing center or remotely. However, this may only last for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis, so keep an eye on the board website for updates.
Pearson VUE, the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation's examination vendor, administers the tests. The exams are offered in both English and Spanish. Candidates whose second language is English are allowed to use a foreign language translation dictionary during the exam.
Candidates must bring two forms of identification to the test—one being a government-issued I.D. such as a driver's license, state identification card, passport, or military identification card. Student or employment I.D. cards and credit cards aren't accepted as suitable identification.
Personal items like snacks and toiletries aren't allowed inside the testing room. However, candidates can bring personal items to the testing center if they're kept in a clear, plastic bag inside a locker. You're allowed to use a calculator during the exam.
You can apply for testing accommodation if you have an officially diagnosed physical or learning disability. The Special Testing Office at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation's Bureau of Education and Testing must receive your application 60 days before the final application deadline or before scheduling a test date for the exam.
The application must include documentation certifying the disability from the appropriate professional and a personal statement detailing how the disability affects your daily activities and learning.
Accommodation options include but aren't limited to:
Once the time comes to apply for your license, you can do so online or via a paper form and include a payment of $63.50.
Florida Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
If you hold a current and active cosmetology license from another state, then you may qualify for licensure by endorsement in Florida. You generally don't need to take the exams or meet the educational requirements to use your current license.
However, if your current license is exclusively for apprentices, you can't use it in Florida and must undergo all licensure requirements.
Facial, nail, and full specialist applicants who received their registration or licensure in another state are eligible for endorsement as long as they meet Florida's education requirements.
Florida registrant requirements are:
Active duty members of the military, veterans, and their spouses who hold a valid cosmetology license in another state aren't required to pass the exam to receive licensure in Florida. Instead, you can apply for licensure through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. In your application, you must submit a copy of your licensure certificate and a copy of the statutes or rules defining the scope of work.
Active military personnel must submit a copy of their military orders and a background check in their application. Veterans must submit a background check and a DD-214 or NGB-22 as proof of honorable discharge. Spouses need to provide a copy of the military order, proof of honorable discharge, or a DD-1300 (report of casualty) along with a marriage certificate and a background check. Military members, Florida National Guard members, veterans, and spouses can have their initial licensure fees waived, reimbursed, or receive a fee discount.
Cosmetology Specialties in Florida
Licensure applicants can also apply for nail, facial, or full specialties.
Nail specialists are registered to practice manicuring and pedicuring. You must complete 180 hours of education to qualify for a nail specialty. Facial specialists are registered to perform facials and must complete 220 hours of training. Full specialists can practice both nail treatments and facials and must undergo 400 hours of training.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetologist and specialist licensees are broken up into two groups. The first group's license expires on October 31 of every odd year. The second group's license expires on October 31 of every even year.
As of 2021, the renewal fees have been waived, and the unlicensed activity fee is only $5. However, be sure to watch their renewal information site for updates—this may only be due to the COVID-19 crisis. Before this, the fee was $45.
You must undergo 10 hours of continuing education and pay any renewal fee, which may be required again in the future, before midnight EST on the expiration date.
If your license becomes delinquent—which occurs on or around December 1—you owe a $65 fee to renew.
Florida requires specific types of continuing education courses for cosmetologists and specialists:
Contact the Florida State Board of Cosmetology
- 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399
- Website: Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 850-487-1395
- Fax: 866-888-1176
Resources for Cosmetologists in Florida
The Board of Cosmetology
The state board of cosmetology is part of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. It's responsible for licensing and regulating cosmetology in the state.
The Florida Association of Cosmetology and Technical Schools (FACTS)
This organization advocates on behalf of beauty schools, educators, and students in Florida.
Esthetics Association Florida
This is a skincare professional organization focused on education, working conditions, and networking.
Florida Spa Association (FSA)
FSA provides continuing education, product access, and networking and employment opportunities for spa professionals.