Cosmetology Schools in Nebraska
- 1,800 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 8 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for cosmetology in Nebraska is $28,850.
- There is a predicted 8% job increase between 2016 - 2026.
You want to spend your career creating, interacting with people, and making a differencewhich is why cosmetology is the perfect choice for you. With tons of diverse employment options, cosmetology can make the most of your talents.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a cosmetology license
Done with your training? Youre almost there! The Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services is your next step. They verify your 1,800 hours and schedule your skills exams. You need a passing written exam score and a passing skills exam score to become fully licensed.
Beauty schools are located all over Nebraska, providing plenty of options for the aspiring beauty guru. To become a licensed cosmetologist, you need to complete at least 1,800 hours of training at an accredited school. While there may be some differences in whats taught at each school, all Nebraska beauty schools must tackle the following core topics.
What You May Study in Cosmetology School
- Permanent waving and chemical relaxing
- Facials, including eyebrow arching, waxing, and facial massage
- Hairstyling, including pin curl formations, rollers, finger waving, thermal curling, braiding, and combouts
- Manicuring and pedicuring
- Artificial nails
- Shampoos, conditioners, and scalp treatments
- Hair coloring
- Nebraska cosmetology law
- Rules and policies
- Ethics and grooming
- Reception skills
- Cosmetology chemistry
Practical experience builds the foundation of your career. Use this time to get feedback, improve your technique, and learn how to communicate effectively with customers.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Licenses for cosmetologists and cosmetology instructors expire on December 31 of even-numbered years. Electrologists must renew by July 31 of odd-numbered years. Esthetics licenses expire on the last day of September in even-numbered years. Nail technicians have to renew by December 31 of odd-numbered years. Late fees of $25 to $75 are assessed if you renew your license after the expiration date. Cosmetologists pay a $118 renewal fee, as do estheticians, electrologists, nail technicians, and permanent makeup artists. The fee is $100 for massage therapists. Nebraska requires eight hours of continuing education to renew any license.
Nebraska Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Nebraska
Nebraskas cosmetology industry is growing. From 2016 through 2026, O*Net predicts an 8% increase in cosmetology jobs in Nebraska (2019). Currently, the average salary for a Nebraska cosmetologist is $28,850 per year (Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2019).
Once you get your foot in the door, you have plenty of options to explore in the beauty industry. As a cosmetologist, you can devote your time to specific services, such as hair coloring, haircutting, or special event hairstyling. You can even branch out into other areas of cosmetology, such as nail technology and skin care. With experience and time, you may eventually use your skills to go into training or management.
Contact the Nebraska State Board of Cosmetology
Cosmetology in Nebraska means that you are part of a group of professionals
adding to a cosmopolitan wave of style throughout the state. Gaining this status
means going through a lengthy process of education. These following resources
are where one starts.
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Click here to learn more about the requirements in your state.
3415 West State Street Suite D
Grand Island, NE 68803
2213 Central Avenue
Kearney, NE 68847
6810 P Street
Lincoln, NE 68505
202 Madison Avenue
Norfolk, NE 68701