Cosmetology Schools in Louisiana
Louisiana truly has something for everyone, from its vibrant multicultural urban environments like New Orleans to its marshlands brimming with wildlife. Bordered on the east by the river towns of the Mississippi River and the south by the beach cities on the Gulf of Mexico, aspiring cosmetologists in this southern state can choose from a variety of locales to launch their beauty careers.. Browse our directory of cosmetology schools in Louisiana, or skip ahead to learn about the state's cosmetology licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Cosmetology Schools in Louisiana
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
2834 South Sherwood Forest
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
1355 Polders Lane
Covington, LA 70433
2922 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503
3330 Veterans Memorial Boulevard
Metairie, LA 70002
Central Louisiana Technical Community College – Accredited
Natchitoches, LA 71457
Guy's Shreveport Academy of Cosmetology Inc – Accredited
Shreveport, LA 71105
Shreveport, LA 71109
You must attend school in the state you want to practice in. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited school. Learn more about the requirements in your state.
Cosmetology Schools Near Me
- 1,500 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every year.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for cosmetologists in Louisiana is $25,420.
- There is a predicted 19% job decrease between 2018–2028 for cosmetologists.
Cosmetologists are beauty professionals who provide services to enhance a client’s appearance, including hair cutting, hairstyling, nail care, and hair removal. If you want to pursue a career in cosmetology in Louisiana, you need to fulfill specific requirements.
The cosmetologist licensing requirements in Louisiana dictate that applicants must:
Louisiana Cosmetology Careers
Average yearly salary for cosmetology in Louisiana
On average, cosmetologists in Louisiana earn $25,420 annually or $12.22 per hour, but 10% of workers in this industry earn $41,510 or more each year. The pay range varies depending on the type of services offered, the location, and the cosmetologist’s level of experience.
Unfortunately, job growth for cosmetologists in Louisiana is expected to decline by 19% through 2028. However, as current workers move, retire, or switch careers, newly licensed cosmetologists will still have opportunities to work in the state.
Average salaries of cosmetologists in metropolitan areas in Louisiana are:
|Metropolitan Area||2020 Median Salary|
|Shreveport-Bossier City, LA||$27,380|
|Baton Rouge, LA||$24,510|
|New Orleans-Metairie, LA||$19,220|
Table information sourced from O*Net (2021)
What to Expect From a Cosmetology Program in Louisiana
Required to earn a cosmetology license
To become a cosmetologist in Louisiana, you’ll first need to complete 1,500 training hours at a board-approved cosmetology school. Your education covers the skills you’ll use in your daily work, such as hair cutting and styling, makeup application, nail care, skin care, and hair removal techniques.
Louisiana’s cosmetology curriculum focuses on five main areas: scientific concepts, physical services, chemical services, hair design and styling, and the Louisiana Cosmetology Act, rules, and regulations.
Can I Apprentice as a Cosmetologist in Louisiana?
At this time, Louisiana doesn’t have an apprenticeship program for cosmetologists.
Louisiana Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
After completing 1,500 cosmetology training hours, you can take the required written and practical licensure exams. You must apply to take these exams through your school, and then your school will schedule your exams.
The cosmetology national theory exam consists of 110 items, including:
You have 90 minutes to complete the national exam, which students can take in Spanish, Vietnamese, and English. You must bring your board clearance letter, picture ID, and Social Security card to the test and pay a testing fee of $83. Applicants have the option to take the test online.
You must also sit for the Louisiana state exam, which you can take after completing 1,000 hours of cosmetology education. The fee for the state exam is $25, and the test consists of 25 multiple choice questions on the state board’s rules and regulations.
- Set and comb out (20 minutes)
- Wet work (10 minutes for finger waves and 30 minutes for the rest of the head)
- Chemicals (50 minutes)
- Haircut (40 minutes)
The practical exam costs $25. Students should bring a minimum of four mannequin heads to the exam, with hair no longer than seven inches. If you fail any portion of the exam, you only need to retake that phase instead of retaking the entire exam.
You should receive your test scores within two weeks of your exam date.
Louisiana Cosmetology Licensure Reciprocity
Licensure reciprocity is available in Louisiana for cosmetologists licensed in other states. Cosmetologists who have passed the national exam will only need to take Louisiana’s state exam.
If you have taken the national exam, you need to have the cosmetology board in the state you took the test send a letter of certification to Louisiana’s board. Once received, you can submit the reciprocity application and pay the $25 license fee and $25 state exam fee (for residents) or $50 state exam fee (for non-residents). Former military members only pay the $25 state exam fee, whether they are residents or not.
Cosmetologists who haven’t taken the national exam must submit a reciprocity application and pay the relevant fees. Once the board has approved the application, the testing company will notify applicants to register for the exam.
Cosmetology Specialties in Louisiana
In addition to cosmetology, Louisiana also offers special courses and permits for blow-drying services, alternative hair design, microdermabrasion, and threading—all of which can be beneficial specialties for cosmetologists working with a diverse clientele in Louisiana.
Cosmetology License Renewal in Louisiana
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Cosmetologists in Louisiana must renew their license every year on or before their birthday. The cost of renewal is $25 for residents and $50 for non-residents, and you must submit a license renewal form along with payment. The license will expire if not renewed after 30 days following your birthday.
If your license has expired after a year, you will need to pay the $25 license fee plus a $25 late fee. If your license has expired for two years, you will need to pay $100 in fees. If your license has been expired for three or more years, you must take a restoration exam to renew your license.
Continuing education is not required for renewal but can help you sharpen your skills as a cosmetologist and expand your list of services.
Contact the Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
Louisiana’s beauty industry has remained a constant force, as evidenced by the strength of the network of salons and schools. With that in mind, many who wish to take up cosmetology as a career begin the process thanks to these institutions.
Louisiana State Board of Cosmetology
The LSBC is the regulatory body overseeing cosmetology practice in the state and is responsible for maintaining the industry’s education, licensure, and health and safety procedures.
Louisiana State Beauticians and Barbers Association
This state association offers an annual convention and workshop and advocates on behalf of the beauty industry in Louisiana.