Barber Schools and License Requirements in Florida
So you want to join the barbering community in Florida, but want to know the details? No problem. Weve been helping students choose the right cosmetology and barber school programs in the Sunshine State for years. If youre eager to get started, and just cant wait dont worry. You can use the search box above or scroll through the list of cosmetology school options below right this second! In a matter of months, you can compete in the Tallahassee Barber Battle, and you can plan for a long career, like Joe Brown of Pensacola who was still cutting hair at 98 years young! If youre serious about becoming a barber in Florida, we have the information you need to make an informed decision.
Better yet, we have relationships with schools across the state who help students like you develop the fundamentals provide the latest in mens styles. You can also learn how to give a killer shave, which is a relaxing perk that can keep men coming back to your shop. Start planning the best path for you to become a barber in Florida now.Barber Schools in Orlando
In Florida, barbering license requirements are similar to cosmetology licensing requirements. To qualify for licensure, you must go through at least 1,200 hours of education at an accredited beauty school. When you sign up to take your written barbering exam, you must pay an application and licensure fee of $150. You must also pay a $31.50 administrative fee to take your written test.
Contact the licensing agency to learn more:
For Florida barbering students, there are many learning outcomes to achieve to become a master barber and stylist in this state. You should seek programs that teach the art and science of mens haircutting. Taking care of mens hair, and offering grooming and coloring options can be just as complicated as the styles we usually associate with those geared toward women.
For a complete barbering education, your curriculum might include:
- Chemical hair relaxing and soft curl permanents
- Mustache and beard grooming
- Florida barbering laws
- Hair and scalp treatments
When you complete your barbering license requirements in Florida, the first thing you should do is put the renewal date on your calendar, so you can keep it active. In the Sunshine State, you will need to renew your barbering license in even-numbered years, no later than July 31st. At the time you submit your application, you will also need to prove that you took the required HIV/AIDS course, as well as the other courses that cover clinical management, safety and sanitation regulations. You will also pay a fee of $105 when you renew, which will be processed by the Florida.
Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation, Board of Cosmetology
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone Number: (850) 487-1395
Fax Number: 866-888-1176
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Florida State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Florida state cosmetology license.
Florida’s barbers are valued professionals who have made the hair care
industry soar in the state. All who aspire to make barbering a career there,
consult with these groups first and foremost.
Florida Department of Education
Florida Department of Business and Developmental Registration
Florida Barbers’ Board