Barber Schools in Nevada
If you're considering becoming a barber, Nevada may be the perfect place to begin. It has some of the most thorough training requirements in the country, helping you to really dig into the business before facing it on your own. Browse our directory of barber schools in Nevada, or skip ahead to learn about the
state's barber licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse Barber Schools in Nevada
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory?
Contact us to learn more.
3510 East Bonaza Road Suite 150
Lake Mead, NV 89110
1401 North Decatur Boulevard #8
Las Vegas, NV 89108
Show More Schools
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Find a Barber School Near You
Check out the
Barbering schools these cities in Nevada have to offer.
How to Become a Barber in Nevada
1,500 education hours and an 18 month apprenticeship are required to become licensed.
You must renew your license every 2 years.
0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
The average salary for barbers is $39,350 nationwide.
There is a predicted 8% job increase for barbers between 2021-2031 nationally.
To become a licensed barber in Nevada, you must complete a barber program and an 18-month apprenticeship, pass a theory and practical exam, and apply for your license.
What To Expect From a Barber Program in Nevada
1,500 Education Hours and an 18 Month Apprenticeship
Required to earn a barber license
Nevada barber programs are 1,500 hours, covering how to perform standard barber services and classes on topics like safety and sanitation, the science behind barbering, and Nevada barber laws.
To qualify for Nevada barber school, you must be a high school graduate and be TB-negative. You must
complete an online application and submit it to the Board. Once approved, you can apply to a Nevada Board-approved barber program.
1,300 of your
1,500 hours of barber instruction consist of learning and performing the following:
50 scalp treatments
50 tonic applications
15 hair colorings
15 hairpiece fittings
Any other practical instruction which the Board may prescribe.
Classes in the remaining hours cover theoretical topics like the science of barbering, managing a barbershop, ethics, salesmanship, and applicable state laws and regulations.
Once you're done with your classwork, you still need to complete your Nevada barber apprenticeship.
Nevada's Mandatory Barber Apprenticeship
both 1,500 hours of schooling and an apprenticeship to become a barber. Most other states either don't allow apprenticeships or let you choose between barber school and apprenticing.
Before your apprenticeship, you must complete a 1,500-hour barber program. To
qualify for a Nevada barber apprenticeship, you must also be a high school graduate with a clean bill of health.
Nevada barber apprenticeships last 18 months, and you must work 40 hours per week. You have 12 working days of paid time off during that time.
You must pass an exam to begin your apprenticeship. You can
apply for the exam online.
Nevada Barber Licensing Requirements
earn your Nevada barber license, you must complete a board-approved barbering program, an 18-month apprenticeship, pass written and practical exams, and submit an online application.
Other requirements include:
At least 18 years old
Must have "good moral character and temperate habits"
Medical exams to prove you don't have TB or another communicable disease
Compliance with child support, if applicable.
You're eligible for licensing exams after completing your barber education and apprenticeship.
To enroll for exams, first, check out the
exam dates offered by the Board. Next, sign up for your exams through the barber licensing portal.
It costs $100 to register for your exams, and you have four chances to pass them. A passing score is 75% or higher on each exam.
The theory exam includes 45 multiple-choice questions and five oral questions about barbering science and Nevada barber laws and regulations.
The first hour of the practical exam takes an hour. You're expected to perform a shampoo, haircut, and shave. The last 10 minutes of the exam are reserved for a hairstyle.
Nevada Barber License Reciprocity
You can earn your Nevada barber license through endorsement.
To qualify, you must have five years of experience within the last 10 years.
Other requirements include:
Proof of 10 th-grade education
Clean bill of health
A $60 fee
apply for an endorsement license online.
Barber License Renewal in Nevada
License renewal period
Continuing education required
renew your Nevada barber's license every two years. The renewal deadline is April 1 in even-numbered years. A $60 license renewal fee is required. You can apply for your renewal online.
No continuing education units are required. However, staying current on top of laws and trends affecting barbers in Nevada is a good idea.
Barber Salary and Projected Job Growth in Nevada
Average yearly salary for barbers nationwide
There's no salary data for barbers in Nevada, but the
national average barber salary is $39,350, or $18.92 hourly. Salaries range from $22,880 to $60,910. Job growth data is also not available for Nevada, but barber jobs across the nation are expected to grow by 8% between 2021 and 2031.
However, Nevada does track salaries for hairdressers, stylists, and cosmetologists; barber salaries are likely to be comparable. The
average yearly salary for those Nevada cosmetologists is $28,910 annually, or $13.90 per hour.
Contact Nevada Barbers' Health and Sanitation Board
Resources for Barbers in Nevada
State Board FAQs The Nevada barbering board answers your most asked questions.
Beauty Schools Directory's Barbering FAQ Page Answers to questions about barber school, licensing, and careers.