Barber Schools and License Requirements in New Mexico
So what does the Land of Enchantment have in store for people who want to become barbers? Like every other state, New Mexico is filled with barbers who make an impact in their communities and make a long career of it too. Its not uncommon for barbers to latch on to the love of haircutting and socializing with their neighbors and continue working long after most professionals would retire. New Mexico barber schools, like A Better U, even offer continuing education courses for current professionals to brush up on their skills.
How can we help you? First, weve been beauty experts for years, and our passion is helping students like yourself choose the best cosmetology school barbering programs. Thats why we have relationships with schools in all 50 states + D.C. who train beauty professionals in many areas. All you have to do is use the search box at the top of this page, or scroll down through the list of schools to view your local options. Or, if you just want the quick facts about working as a barber in New Mexico, weve got you covered.
Barbering licensing requirements in New Mexico are similar to the requirements found in other states. Prior to getting your license, you must pass an accredited barbering program of at least 1,200 training hours. You can then submit your application and pay your $50 licensing fee to schedule your exams. Once you pass your licensing exams, you can become a barber.
Contact the licensing agency for more information:
New Mexico barbering students can develop a cool, yet complex skillset that is truly timeless, and continually evolving. Curriculum in many training programs offer learning outcomes in advanced techniques, including coloring, shaving, facial treatments, state laws and entrepreneurship.
New Mexico barbering courses can include:
- Mustache and beard design
- Skin, scalp and hair disorders
You must renew your New Mexico barber license with the New Mexico Licensing and Regulation Department every year for it to stay valid in this state. The renewal fee is $50, which you can pay online. If you are also a barber instructor, you must also take 12 hours of a continuing education course in order to stay current. Practitioners must pay the renewal fee by their end of their birth month. However, taking continuing education courses helps you stay current in new trends, sanitation laws, and other important areas.
New Mexico Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists
2550 Cerillos Road, 2nd Floor Toney Anaya Building
PO Box 25101
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number: 505-476-4622
Fax Number: 505-476-44665
The New Mexico State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists can help you with renewing your cosmetology license, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a New Mexico cosmetology license from out of state.
Many in New Mexico have turned to the barbering industry as a source of new
career opportunities. In turn, the outlook of hair grooming in the state is bright.
Eager barber applicants can look into these following resources.
New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
New Mexico Barber Styling Exam Guide
New Mexico Barber Testing Portal