If you're looking for a career that's growing rapidly, draws on your creativity, allows you to meet people from all walks of life, and makes people feel great about themselves, why not consider becoming a barber in Kansas?
1,200 education hours are required to become licensed.
You must renew your license every year.
0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
The average salary for barbers in Kansas is $32,018.
There is a predicted 8% job increase for barbers between 2021-2031 nationally.
To become a barber in Kansas, you must complete certain steps, such as meeting age and demeanor requirements, completing 1,200 training hours at a board-approved school, and passing exams.
According to the Kansas Board of Barbering (KBB), barbers in Kansas work with clients to help improve their appearance by washing and cutting hair, shaving and grooming facial hair, giving facial or scalp massages or treatments, coloring or applying permanent waves, and more.
A barbering career not only involves the technical know-how needed to perform these treatments but also calls for good interpersonal skills to work alongside other barbers and provide excellent customer service. It means adhering to schedules, working on your feet for much of the day, and paying close attention to detail.
To become a barber in Kansas, you need a license. Here's how to do that:
Meet the age and demeanor requirements: All applicants must be at least 16 years old and "of good moral character and temperate habit."
Chemistry, sterilization, and antiseptics: 10 hours
Coloring, bleaching, tinting, and dyeing: 25 hours practice, 17 hours demo and lecture
Economics, equipment, and shop management: 15 hours
Electricity as applied to barbering: 2 hours
Facials, massages, and packs: 20 hours practice, 5 hours demo and lecture
Hair cutting: 600 hours practice, 25 hours demo and lecture
Hair styling and arranging: 30 hours practice, 10 hours demo and lecture
Histology: 10 hours
History of barbering: 5 hours
Honing and stropping: 1 hour practice, 1 hour demo and lecture
Hygiene and first aid: 5 hours
Instruments: 5 hours
Law and ethics: 25 hours
Permanent waving: 20 hours practice, 10 hours demo and lecture
Products: 5 hours
Sanitation and sterilization: 10 hours practice, 10 hours demo and lecture
Scalp, skin, and hair disorders: 10 hours
Science: 150 hours
Shaving: 100 hours practice, 20 hours demo and lecture
Singeing and hair tonics: 1 hour practice, 1 hour demo and lecture
Kansas Barber Licensing Requirements
You must take your licensing exam once you graduate from a Kansas barber school. You need proof you completed your required schooling, then submit an application, a $100 exam fee and an $80 license fee, an email address, and a copy of a government-issued ID.
The licensing exam is divided into three parts: a written exam developed and administered by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology, or NIC; a practical exam in which you demonstrate your skills on both a mannequin and a live model; and a Kansas Rules and Regulations exam.
The practical and rules and regulations parts are usually given on the same day, while the written exam is conducted at a separate time and location. Practical exams are offered at least twice a year, and the written exam is scheduled directly with the NIC.
You must score at least 80% on each part of the exam to receive your license. It's a good idea to study, which is why the board offers exam aids and practical exam kit requirements on its website.
If you don't pass the exam on the first try, you can reapply and get a temporary license to practice. You can only do this three times before you're denied a license. If you fail only one part, you must apply to retake that part before you can get your license.
Can I Apprentice as a Barber in Kansas?
No, there are no Kansas barber apprenticeships available.
Kansas Barber License Reciprocity
If you're already licensed to work as a barber in another state, you can get a license in Kansas if you meet these requirements:
You're at least 18 years old
You demonstrate good character and professional behavior
You've been working as a licensed barber for at least two years
You provide a letter from your current licensing board verifying that you're in good standing
You've met the equivalent training requirements needed in Kansas
Your license is in a state that has a reciprocity agreement with Kansas. Currently, 32 states have reciprocity agreements for barbers in Kansas
If you haven't met the required training hours, you need to apply to take the exam and pay the $180 fee. Military barbers must complete 500 hours of training to get their Kansas licenses.
Barber License Renewal in Kansas
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You must renew your license by its expiration date each year. As long as you stay in good standing, you can do this by simply completing the barber license renewal application and mailing it to the Kansas Board of Barbering with your $80 renewal fee.
You'll be charged late fees if you fail to renew on time. If your license isn't renewed within three years, you must retake your exams. There is no continuing education requirement to renew your license.
Barber Salary and Projected Job Growth in Kansas
Average yearly salary for barbering in Kansas
According to Salary.com, barbers in Kansas earn an average annual salary of $32,018. The Bureau of Labor Statistics doesn't track salary and employment data for barbers in Kansas. However, those in the closely related fields of cosmetology, hairstyling, and hairdressing earned $35,840 as of 2022.
No job growth data specifically for barbers in Kansas is available, but O*Net projects 8% employment growth in this field nationwide for the 2021-2031 period, which is faster than average