Barber Schools and License Requirements in Montana
When you think of Montana, you might not think of barbering. But Montana communities rely on these men and women for fresh styles and to connect in personal ways that are becoming rare in the digital age. Take Louis Piche, for instance. This famous barber worked from the 1930s-1960s, and is still talked about like local folklore. When he died at age 99 in 2010, residents reminisced about a man who was more than a barber, and would be sorely missed. No matter what impact you want to have as a barber in your community, youll need to compare cosmetology school programs with barber training before pursuing this career.
Luckily, we have relationships with schools that can help you map the right way forward. Use the search box at the top of this page or scroll through the list of schools below to view your options now. If youre still in the beginning stages of collecting information, keep reading to learn about jobs, requirements and licensing for barbers in MT.
Before working with clients as a barber, you have to meet Montana licensing requirements. You need no fewer than 1,500 hours of training at an approved barbering program. You can then schedule your testing exams with approval from the Board. Once you pass the written and practical NIC barber exams, you may apply for your license. The application fee in Montana is $80.
Contact the board for more licensing information:
Montana barbering programs give you a chance to learn several timeless skills, and new techniques that are creating new trends in mens styles. Many programs include courses that help you master beard and mustache grooming, hair coloring, and understand the anatomy and physiology behind this profession. You can also find courses that cover state laws and regulations that are critical to understand for licensure.
Courses in Montana barbering programs may include:
- Hair relaxing
- Facial massage
- Skin and scalp disorders
- Tools and equipment
To keep your barber license active in the state of Montana, you will need to renew it every other year by March 1st. The renewal fee is currently $80, and due with your application for renewal. When you first apply for your initial license, you will need to submit this application; but only after you have met the minimum 1,500 hour training requirement. Montana also requires barbers to pass a written and practical exam administered by the state.
Montana State Board of Cosmetology
301 South Park, PO Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
Phone Number: 406-841-2202 and 406-841-2205
Fax Number: 406-841-2323
E-mail Address: email@example.com, DLIBSDLicensingUnitB@mt.gov, and DLIBSDLicensingUnitA@mt.gov
The Montana State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Montana state cosmetology license.
For those looking to have more intrepid career paths and also forge more
horizons for small business, barbering is proving to be a solid choice. With
that in mind, potential professionals look into these resources for guidance.
Montana Board Of Barbers and Cosmetologists
Montana Online License Renewal
Montana Barber School Exam Portal