1,000 education hours or 1,500 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
You must renew your license every 2 years.
0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
The average salary for barbers in Utah is $23,330 ($11.21/hour). This is higher than the national average of $30,150 ($14.50/hour).
There is a predicted 7% job increase for barbers between 2018-2028 nationally.
Ready to join the ranks of barbers in Utah? Look to Another Level barbershop for inspiration, if you want to learn how to connect this old school profession with what's hip now. The owner, Arthur Owens, went to barber school, and then made the vision in his head a reality. Now, customers from all over the Salt Lake City area love the feel of his shop and the quality of his work. So, what's your grand vision in barbering? Do you have a concept for your business? Or do you want to start out in an existing spot? Let us help you out. You don't have to plan your entire career today.
But you can move ahead. We have several years of experience helping students like yourself find the right barbering schools and courses. Not only that, you'll need to know the licensure requirements for Utah. Don't worry, we have the quick facts nicely summed up below. And when you're ready to move forward from there, never fear. Our search box above and school listings below will reveal your options for cosmetology schools with barbering programs near you. The time to get excited for your future is now!
State License Requirements
1,000 Education Hours OR 1,500 Apprentice Hours
Required to earn a barbering license
In Utah, barbering students can acquire a wide range of skills that prove men's styles and hair design is no longer a simple cut and warm shave. That's why many of today's top programs include coloring, skin care, entrepreneurship, and beard grooming in their course curriculum. On top of that, you should seek training that will help you navigate state laws and regulations concerning barbering.
Utah barbering courses may include:
Anatomy and physiology
Tools and equipment
License renewal period
Continuing education required
It will cost you $60 to renew your barber license in Utah. Here is a link to the application you can print and mail in. You can also renew your barber license online in Utah. Utah barber licenses expire two years after the date they are issued. As long as you continue to renew your license on time, you will not have to worry about re-taking the exams and completing continuing education courses. However, we do think it’s a good idea to connect with other salon professionals and instructors through classes, workshops and other opportunities for learning.
Utah Barbering Careers
Average yearly salary for barbering in Utah
Contact the Utah State Board of Cosmetology
Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Being a barber in Utah means that you become a part of an esteemed number of career professionals who bolster the industry and economy in the state. Eager parties have availed themselves of the information that follows to enter the hair care industry.