Barber Schools and License Requirements in Mississippi
Who says that barbering has to be a mans world? Dont tell that to Sondra Clark of Mendenhall, who was commended for her work in the profession of barbering while she was Executive Director of the Mississippi Board of Barber Examiners. She helped expand school options from 6 to 30 programs in the state. Plus, she helped institute prison programs that gave skills to people who were looking to walk a new path in life. No matter what your route towards a barber school education looks like, we recommend checking into all of your options before making any decision.
Our experience helping millions of students find cosmetology school programs in all 50 states + D.C. has taught us a lot. Namely, that students need to learn about their states requirements, average program length, and example course topics before doing anything else. Fortunately, we have all that info and more laid out for you to scan quickly below. Once youre ready to view your options, check out our list of schools or use the search box above to get the skinny on barber schools right here in ol Miss.
In Mississippi, you must complete 1,500 hours of training to become a licensed barber. After completing your training at an accredited barber school, you can apply to take your exams. The initial licensing fee is $50. The testing fees in Mississippi are $183. Barbering requires both a written exam and a practical exam. Passing both of these tests is the final hurdle to an initial barbering license.
Contact the licensing board below:
When you compare Mississippi barbering programs, you should seek learning outcomes across the spectrum of this skillset. Mens styles are more complicated that ever, which gives you more variety in your role. However, this means that you will want to learn such skills as: hair and scalp treatments, permanent waving, anatomy, as well as shop management skills.
Curriculum of barbering courses might cover:
- Hair coloring
- State barbering laws
- Permanent waving
Licenses are renewed every 2 years in Mississippi. Continuing education is not required for most beauty licenses in Mississippi.
Mississippi Board of Cosmetology
239 North Lamar, Suite 301
Jackson, MS 39201
PO Box 55689
Phone Number: 601-359-1820
Fax Number: 601-354-6639
For specific questions, please contact the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology directly for more information.
Barbers in Mississippi conduct themselves with a firm code of honor and style.
This is buttressed by a dedicated amount of resources available to those looking
to take up hair care as a trade.
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology
Mississippi State Department Of Health
Mississippi Candidate Testing Information