1,500 education hours or 3,000 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
You must renew your license every 2 years.
0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
The average salary for barbers in Delaware is $40,564 ($19.50/hour). This is higher than the national average of $30,150 ($14.50/hour).
There is a predicted 7% job increase for barbers between 2018-2028 nationally.
State License Requirements
1,500 Education Hours OR 3,000 Apprentice Hours
Required to earn a barbering license
There are two ways to become a barber in Delaware. You can either attend a 1,500-hour training program or complete a 3,000-hour apprenticeship program. You may then sign up to take your exams through PCS. The combined exam fee is $218, which covers your practical exam and your written exam. You can then receive your license to work as a master barber.
In Delaware barbering programs you can develop a variety of skills that will make your mostly male clientele want to become faithful clients. Men's haircuts nowadays can require coloring, softening, and the same types of hair products women's styles demand. You will also want to understand Delaware state law, and how to remain compliant in your licensure while you're working those mad barber skills.
Some barbering courses you might take include:
Implements, tools and equipment
License renewal period
Continuing education required
The renewal fee is the same as the original licensing fee. Barbers must renew their licenses by March 31 of even-numbered years. Delaware does not currently require continuing education hours to renew your license.
The state of Delaware has seen modest increases in those looking to make a living in barbering and hair care over the past decade. Anyone looking to join those ranks make it a point to get information from these groups.