Barbering Schools in New Jersey
Browse our directory of barbering schools in New Jersey, or skip ahead to learn about the state's barbering licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Barbering Schools in New Jersey
301 Gibraltar Drive Suite 1-A
Morris Plains, NJ 7950
15 Ward Street
Bloomfield, NJ 7003
2100 State Highway 38
Cherry Hill, NJ 8002
1126 Morris Avenue
Union, NJ 7083
801 Tilton Road
Northfield, NJ 8225
5200 Route 42
Turnersville, NJ 8012
Pine Brook, NJ 7058
- 1,200 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- The average salary for barbers in New Jersey is $40,630 ($19.53/hour). This is higher than the national average of $30,150 ($14.50/hour).
- There is a predicted 26% job increase between 2016–2026 for barbers. This is higher than the expected national growth of 7%.
Think you have what it takes to battle with Jersey's hottest barbers? Just check this video out before you start talking big game. And once you're humbled by their shear awesomeness, let's talk barber college options, so you can get licensed and prepare to make your own mark in the Garden State. As you know, barbers are more than people who cut hair. They are recognized, respected and relied on in their communities. On top of that, there are many ways to this career: by working for yourself, or in an existing shop with more flexible hours than a standard 9-5.
So, where do we fit in? We have helped students locate cosmetology schools that offer barbering programs in their area for years now. Below, you will find the quick info you need to know about hours required for licensure, and that kind of thing. If you're ready to view schools, you can easily use the search box above, or scroll through the listings below. Either way, we try to keep it simple so you can find what you need and move forward in your career. Cool? Good. Now let's keep going.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a barbering license
When you submit your barbering application, you must pay a $50 application fee and a $60 licensing fee. The licensing fee is only $30 if you are in the second year of a licensing cycle. You also have to verify that you have completed at least 1,200 hours of training at an approved barbering school. You can then take your written and practical exams.
When you compare barbering programs in New Jersey, you should first look at learning outcomes the courses aim to achieve. You should seek courses that cover New Jersey laws and regulations for safety and sanitation. And, you will want to learn advanced skills, such as coloring, facial treatments, and beard grooming, for instance.
New Jersey barbering courses may cover these topics:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Once you start working as a barber in New Jersey, you’ll want to do everything you can to stay on top of renewal. Here’s the skinny on renewing in New Jersey: This must be done every two years in even-numbered years, and includes a fee of $60. This license renewal falls under the cosmetology license for this state. So you will have to visit the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology for complete information. Continuing education courses are not a requirement for renewal.
New Jersey Barbering Careers
Average yearly salary for barbering in New Jersey
Contact the New Jersey State Board of Barbering
The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology can help you with updating your name or change of address information, acquiring out-of-state licensing, renewal and other useful forms, as well as answer other questions about obtaining a New Jersey cosmetology license. Barbers have found a fertile ground in New Jersey. The industry is expanding in very promising ways catering to all kinds of customers. Those who seek to make barbering a career choice have a couple of areas to satisfy their curiosity.