Esthetician Schools in West Virginia
Browse our directory of esthetician schools in West Virginia, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
We researched all the esthetician schools that West Virginia has to offer and found the cream of the crop. View our list of the best esthetician schools in West Virginia.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in West Virginia
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
Check out the Esthetics/Skin Care schools these cities in West Virginia have to offer.
How to Become a Esthetician in West Virginia
- 600 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 1 year.
- 4 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in West Virginia is $29,370
- There is a predicted 9% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.
How to Become an Esthetician in West Virginia
To become an esthetician in West Virginia, you need to be at least 18, have a high school diploma or equivalent, graduate from an esthetician school, and pass a licensing exam.
West Virginia state law says an esthetician (which the state calls "aesthetician") can perform treatments enhancing the skin's appearance. They can use chemicals and mechanical or electrical tools; cleanse, groom, and beautify skin; remove hair; perform body wraps; apply artificial eyelashes or eyebrows; and lighten body hair.
To become an esthetician in West Virginia, you must:
What to Expect from an Esthetician Program in West Virginia
Required to earn a esthetics license
An esthetician program in West Virginia should include at least 600 training hours. It must cover professional skills, science, skin disorders, facials, makeup, massage, and hair removal.
You must have earned at least 200 clock hours from your program before you can work with the general public on your practical skills.
The West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists (WVBBC) requires that an esthetics school should teach the following curriculum:
To teach esthetics in West Virginia, an esthetician school must meet board standards. These include having at least two classrooms; providing equipment like whiteboards, mirrors, shampoo bowls, reference books, and other equipment and furnishings; and having a clinic on site.
The school also must require students to attend at least 80% of their classes.
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in West Virginia?
You can't apprentice as an esthetician in West Virginia. But, the state does allow apprenticeships for cosmetology and barbering.
West Virginia Esthetician Licensing Requirements
You must be an adult citizen or legal West Virginia resident who has finished high school (or the equivalent) and an esthetics program to get your license.
You also need to schedule a physical exam with your physician and have them complete a Certificate of Health form.
Finally, you need to have passed the licensing exam. West Virginia works with a third party, DL Roope, to administer its National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) exams. Schedule the exam through the DL Roope website.
When you apply, you also need to say if you want to download the results from the website or have them mailed.
The exam is in three parts: a 90-minute written exam that covers theory, a practical exam that lasts roughly three hours, and a 30-minute test of West Virginia state law.
The practical exam and state law test are only available in English. Additional languages are available for the written exam. State your preference when you apply to take the test.
Don't schedule until you receive notices about all three tests in the mail. Your exam fee of $107 expires if you don't schedule your written test within six months.
If you meet ADA requirements, you can request reasonable accommodations for the esthetics exams in West Virginia by submitting three forms with your test application:
When you receive your admission letter to confirm your exam day, time, and location, bring the letter to the test site and a government-issued photo ID.
Your written exam covers the following topics:
Your practical exam includes the following skills:
You perform these skills on a mannequin that has been board-approved before the test; models aren't allowed. Bring a set of supplies, including:
You must receive at least 70% on all three sections of the exam to be considered passing. If you fail any part, you have to retake it.
If you choose to get your results on the website, you can access those in 7-10 days. Print the details, as results disappear from the site after two weeks.
You can't see your results online if you opt to receive them by mail. Your results letter has information about areas you did well on and ones where you need to improve. If needed, it also has information about rescheduling.
Once you have your results letter, you can apply for your esthetician license! Simply complete the initial license application found on the board's website and gather the following materials to submit with it:
Mail the packet to:
PO Box 40235
Charleston, WV 25364
West Virginia Esthetician License Reciprocity
West Virginia doesn't have any reciprocity agreements with other states that allow their practitioners to practice here. But if you have a license in another state, you can get your West Virginia license if you:
Esthetician Specialties in West Virginia
In West Virginia, it's possible to specialize in waxing by receiving a certification as a waxing specialist. You don't need to complete a full esthetics program to earn this certification.
Like the esthetics license, you must meet age, citizenship, and education requirements. But a waxing certification only requires 125 hours of training. You’ll also need to pass an exam, pay fees, and submit an application.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
The WVBBC requires that you renew your esthetician license every year on or before January 1. Complete the renewal form found on the application page on the board's website and send it, along with your $35 fee, to the WVBBC.
West Virginia also requires estheticians to complete four hours of continuing education credits each year. Once you have had your license for 20 years, you don't have to do this. But, you do need to take a three-hour sanitation class every other year.
West Virginia Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in West Virginia
Estheticians, or skin care specialists, in West Virginia earned an average annual income of $29,370, or $14.12 per hour, in May 2021.
It's expected that skin care specialist jobs will grow by 9% in West Virginia between 2020 and 2030.
The highest-paying metro area for estheticians in the greater West Virginia area is the extended DC metro area, at a median of $44,600 per year.
Contact the West Virginia State Board of Esthetics
- 1201 Dunbar Avenue, Dunbar, West Virginia, 25064
- Website: West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
- Call: 304-558-2924
- Fax: 304-558-3450
Resources for Estheticians in West Virginia
West Virginia Estheticians
This is a Facebook page hosted by the National Coalition of Estheticians Association. Estheticians in West Virginia can find information about rules and regulations, continuing education, certifications, and more.